Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quagmire before NORAD rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
NESTOR THOMOPOULOS
msg tools
What happens:
1) if Quagmire event is played and it is over and US player plays the NORAD event,the NORAD event can be triggered?
2)If the Quagmire event is still active because the US player has not managed to cancel it but during this the USSR player plays the NORAD event,the NORAD event can be triggered or it is cancelled due to active Quagmire


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Norad will be activated in this case.

2) Not entirely sure here, good question. I would say Norad is activated, as the Norad canceling portion of Quagmire only occurs as it is activated.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once Quagmire has been triggered, NORAD becomes an unplayable event.

So NORAD does not get triggered in any of your listed scenarios.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
dlikos wrote:
2) Not entirely sure here, good question. I would say Norad is activated, as the Norad canceling portion of Quagmire only occurs as it is activated.


NORAD is activated. Quagmire cancels NORAD at the instant the event is played.

afafard wrote:
Once Quagmire has been triggered, NORAD becomes an unplayable event.


Incorrect. Compare and contrast with Camp David Accords which says "“Arab-Israeli War” event no longer playable"
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Look like I played it wrong all along!
Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
NESTOR THOMOPOULOS
msg tools
So what is the correct answer?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The one with the most thumbs.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Woodham
United States
Phoenix
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep. It's easy to understand if you contrast this to the wording of "Evil Empire," which says "cancels/prevents," as opposed to Quagmire/NORAD which simply says "cancels."

In other words, it doesn't prevent unless it says "prevents"; the cards are all well worded.

This is another reason why optional cards make the game so much better --> NORAD strategy adds another layer to the game, not just in how it affects headline play, but also in the importance of NORAD/Quagmire order.

Consequently, if you have nothing better to hold as USSR, sometimes it is good to hold NORAD from T3 into T4 in the hopes of drawing Quagmire in the next turn or so and saving yourself a few ops and late war worries.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Spiker
United States
Woodbridge
Virginia
flag msg tools
I love as the USSR playing NORAD in Mid-war (after I've already dropped DEFCON) for the 3 ops, then dropping Quagmire later in the round to cancel it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cox
United States
Hawaii
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
afafard wrote:
The one with the most thumbs.



shake
yuk
cry


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cox
United States
Hawaii
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dexter099 wrote:

...In other words, it doesn't prevent unless it says "prevents"; the cards are all well worded...


So you posit that if Quag is played first then it does not affect NORAD when NORAD is played afterward? NORAD stands?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Yes, that's how it works.

Here's Jason's original ruling from six years back. For some reason people still keep asking about it, rather than using the helpful search function.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.