Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Legends of Andor: The Star Shield» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wolf Allies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Strangely, the rules on the wolf's friend card seem to indicate that the player who tamed the alpha wolf gets no benefit from the wolves; only the other players do. Thematically this makes no sense. Is this a misprint?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is. I believe it is an example of the classic "may not" vs. "need not" language issue that arises when translating German to English.

So, basically the player who tames the wolf may not NEED NOT (i.e. does not have to) be involved in the fight where the wolves assist.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So the problem is solved by simply deleting the phrase in parentheses, meaning the wolves can assist any of the heroes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
QBert80 wrote:
So the problem is solved by simply deleting the phrase in parentheses, meaning the wolves can assist any of the heroes?


Right. It's a parenthetical to explain that the tamer doesn't have to be involved. Instead it creates confusion because it is mistranslated.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.