Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Ticket to Ride: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multiple stations on a route rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
kw tan
msg tools
Rules state that stations are placed on an unoccupied city but can there be two stations on a route ? Aslo can you place stations over a route straight away ? If so does the neighbouring cities remain unoccupied ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Multiple stations on a track
Stations are placed on a city [at either end of a route] - so in essence upto 3(4) people can use a route - the one(s) who claimed it (2 for a double route in 4-5 players), and then 2 additional people by placing a station at either end. As an action you can place a station on a city.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Amick
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mogust wrote:
Stations are placed on a city at either end of a claimed route - so in essence upto 3(4) people can use a route - the one(s) who claimed it (2 for a double route in 4-5 players), and then 2 additional people by placing a station at either end. As an action you can place a station on a route, but it does have to be claimed by someone else first.


The action is to place a station in a city that doesn't already have one; it is legal (though possibly wasteful) to place a station in a city that has no routes claimed by an opponent connected to it. You are not required to assign the station to a particular route until the end.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ericamick2 wrote:
mogust wrote:
Stations are placed on a city at either end of a claimed route - so in essence upto 3(4) people can use a route - the one(s) who claimed it (2 for a double route in 4-5 players), and then 2 additional people by placing a station at either end. As an action you can place a station on a route, but it does have to be claimed by someone else first.


The action is to place a station in a city that doesn't already have one; it is legal (though possibly wasteful) to place a station in a city that has no routes claimed by an opponent connected to it. You are not required to assign the station to a particular route until the end.


Very true. Edited to reflect that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sven F.
Sweden
Västra Götaland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
someoneonly wrote:
Rules state that stations are placed on an unoccupied city but can there be two stations on a route ? Aslo can you place stations over a route straight away ? If so does the neighbouring cities remain unoccupied ?

I fully agree with previous comments. Just to clarify: the habit of placing a station on top of the waggons of an already claimed route, is not according to the rules. It seems a viable strategy at the endgame scoring, but during the play it should be avoided för many reasons:
1) It should be kept secret what route (already built or future route) the station is meant to use.
2) Your plans for why you build the station might very well be altered when your opponents or yourself later claim routes in the station's vicinity.
3) You might well use a station for other strategic reasons than just borrowing other people's routes. It could for example be a way of stopping people from building their own stations there. (Besides, if you would at some time happen to play the Europa 1912 expansion, you will find that the so called depots in a way compete with stations, as only one station or one depot can be placed on each city.)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.