Fields of Arle» Forums » General

Subject: Flip Tile (Tile Upgrade) Action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Larry Schneider
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
I am studying the rules in anticipation of purchasing the game, and one of the concepts I’m unsure about is the Flip Tile action provided by the Warden, Dike Warden, and the Berum Castle. The #4 Note on page 14 of the rules says that the Overview document contains the list of tiles that have the Arrow Symbol. And that Overview document lists the following as actions or items that can be produced via this Flip Tile action: Plow, Wagon, Horse Cart, Droshky, Dehydrated Moor, Depot, Double Stall, and Park. (Obviously, you can always purchase the listed vehicles outright, but once you've purchased their flipped counterparts, you require the Flip Tile action to convert the vehicle to one of the above.)

However, nowhere in the Equipment list in that same Overview document does it mention that the vehicles listed above can be procured via the Warden, Dike Warden, or Berum Castle. For example, it only indicates that the Plow is obtainable from the Farmer and Smithy, the Handcart and Wagon are only obtainable from the Laborer, Wainwright, or Junk Dealer’s Inn, and the Cart Horse Cart, Carriage, and Droshky are only obtainable from the Laborer, Wainwright, or Village Church. No mention of either of the Warden Actions or the Berum Castle.

Nor does it mention the Warden Actions or Berum Castle when indicating how to obtain the Double Stall or Park in the Animals section of the Overview document.

Same goes for the Rulebook. For instance, on page 14 of the rules, note 1 indicates that you can get Plows from the Farmer action, but it doesn’t mention that you can also get a Plow from the Warden or Dike Warden action.

My question is, is this simply an oversight in these documents or am I misunderstanding how the Flip Tile Action works?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland