Subject: A good overview book of military costume throughout human history? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marina SC
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi! I am a videogame artist, and for a future project I'm looking for a nice visual dictionary of military costume/armor/uniforms that covers a good range of history (not just the modern era, for example) and geography (not just western countries). It doesn't need to go really in-depth, as this is as a way to inspire general looks and once I know what I want to do I can research for more detailed pictures elsewhere. The main thing I'm looking for are good photos/illustrations and a wide breadth.

This is the kind of thing I'm looking for, but it sounds like it might be a bit small: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1472812972/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_tlNQwb...

Do you know of any other (widely available!) books that I should take a look at?

Apologies if this is the wrong place to post as it's not explicitly boardgame-related, but I thought there would be a lot of military buffs of all time periods in this forum

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edmund Hon
Canada
Maple
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Military uniforms is a very very broad subject as it covers the multitude of military organizations worldwide throughout human history. Heck, some people can spent most of their life just studying Napoleonic uniforms, and that is just for a period of about two decades in Europe!

You might want to take a look at Osprey Publishing's Men-At-Arms series of books. Osprey is probably the best known publisher on books about military uniforms, and just the MAA series has over 500 titles, which tells you how broad this subject matter is.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marina SC
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Taskforce 58 wrote: