Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
S S
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Got the game in the mail at midday, and by the evening, I was launching the first waves toward the beach at Betio. I'm by no means an expert at D-Day at Omaha, but I knew enough to ease into D-Day at Tarawa fairly quickly. If you've played Omaha, you shouldn't have much trouble.

Unlike Omaha, the beach landing sequence is more detailed. And this is where the Marines are going to take a lot of casualties. The first wave landed pretty haphazardly, with about five to six step losses. Fortunately, the LVTs came away relatively intact, enough to transport the whole second and subsequent landings without more than a single turn's delay.

In the meantime, Japanese fire was sporadic rather than intense. The first men on the beach were scattered, but taking shelter behind the seawall, were spared the worst fire. In fact, units that landed further in (inland 1 and 2) were hardest hit. The landing around the Parrot's Beak was subjected to more intense fire and suffered pretty heavy losses.

Fortunately, the turn 4 and 6 landings helped secure the middle of the island. The Marines have a significant manpower superiority there, and were able to methodically reduce the Japanese positions one by one. Once a position has fallen, often a neighboring position becomes vulnerable to approach and close combat. Indeed, no fire combat was attempted until turn 6 or so. The vast majority of the fighting was done by close combat.

Each turn, the Marines suffered anywhere from zero to six step losses from Japanese artillery and defensive fire. The Marines won approximately 2 out of every 3 close combat attempt. So slowly but surely, by turn 8, the goal was to roll up the remaining Japanese positions within reach with minimal casualties and maximum chance of success. By turn 10, I had secured victory quite comfortably (control of at least 10 Japanese positions.)