Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: Unclear about sowing and action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vijayakrishna Ranganathan
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Not clear about this part. When you sow grain in a field, you take one from your personal supply and two from the general supply? Is that correct? So you'll have three grains in the field but during harvest you only get 1 harvested? What's the point and benefit of the two that comes from general supply?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Casey Craig
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Yes, all of that is correct. The point is in future harvests you will take off the extra ones.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keng Leong Yeo
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
aka Uncle
badge
小富靠勤,中富靠智,大富靠德。
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BoardGameChronicles wrote:
Not clear about this part. When you sow grain in a field, you take one from your personal supply and two from the general supply? Is that correct?

Yes, that is correct.

And if you sow vegetable, you take one from your personal supply and one from the general supply.

Note also that if you have multiple empty fields and multiple grain/vegetable in your supply, you may sow all of them at one go.

BoardGameChronicles wrote:
So you'll have three grains in the field but during harvest you only get 1 harvested?

Yes, that is correct.

BoardGameChronicles wrote:
What's the point and benefit of the two that comes from general supply?

Partially because all grain and vegetables in your field and in your supply counts towards the VPs you earn at the end of the game.

And partially because you can feed your family the grain or vegetable you have just harvested. There will be more in the fields and you know that you have more coming during the next harvest, which you can again use for feeding purposes or to sow in other empty plowed fields.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vijayakrishna Ranganathan
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
I think my question was not clear. Why take one grain and take two from general supply, instead of taking three grains from the card itself. Why wouldn't the card say 'take three grains'. This almost looks like a free bonus. You get one grain, get two free bonus. This way for one grain, you will harvest for three seasons? Is this how it's supposed to be?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The point is that you turn one grain into three grain over the course of three harvests.

Edit to expand on that: when you take the sow action you'll end up with three tokens (if grain) or two tokens (if vegetable) on each ploughed field you are sowing.

Those tokens are made up of one from your own personal supply and two (if grain) or one (if vegetable) from the general supply. You can only sow a ploughed field that has zero tokens currently on it.

Each harvest remove exactly one token from every ploughed field you have and put them into your personal supply. Once you've taken all the tokens off a ploughed field over the course of three (if grain) or two (if vegetable) harvests, you are free to sow that field again.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vijayakrishna Ranganathan
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
grant5 wrote:
The point is that you turn one grain into three grain over the course of three harvests.

Edit to expand on that: when you take the sow action you'll end up with three tokens (if grain) or two tokens (if vegetable) on each ploughed field you are sowing.

Those tokens are made up of one from your own personal supply and two (if grain) or one (if vegetable) from the general supply. You can only sow a ploughed field that has zero tokens currently on it.

Each harvest remove exactly one token from every ploughed field you have and put them into your personal supply. Once you've taken all the tokens off a ploughed field over the course of three (if grain) or two (if vegetable) harvests, you are free to sow that field again.


Brilliant. Superbly explained. Thanks very much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rosh McDaid
England
Dorking
Surrey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Yeoster wrote:
Note also that if you have multiple empty fields and multiple grain/vegetable in your supply, you may sow all of them at one go.


I believe you can only do two of each?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
inkandrage wrote:
Yeoster wrote:
Note also that if you have multiple empty fields and multiple grain/vegetable in your supply, you may sow all of them at one go.


I believe you can only do two of each?

You're thinking of Caverna. Agricola has no restrictions on the number or types of fields you can sow in a single action. It's limited only by what you have in your personal supply to plant and the empty plowed fields available on your board.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark P
Canada
Kitchener
ONTARIO
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you can sow as many empty fields as you have as long as you have grain or vegetable in your supply to do it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Parrott
United Kingdom
Crowthorne
Berkshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BoardGameChronicles wrote:
I think my question was not clear. Why take one grain and take two from general supply, instead of taking three grains from the card itself. Why wouldn't the card say 'take three grains'. This almost looks like a free bonus. You get one grain, get two free bonus. This way for one grain, you will harvest for three seasons? Is this how it's supposed to be?

Think of it as planting the seeds, you use the 1 batch of grain you have harvested previously to plant 3 more plants to harvest in the coming seasons.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Shields
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BoardGameChronicles wrote:

Brilliant. Superbly explained. Thanks very much!


Also note that the grain and vegetables on your fields at the end of the game are still worth points, even if there's no time to harvest them. So even late game, sowing a couple things can earn you a couple points.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.