Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Dungeons & Dragons: Attack Wing» Forums » News

Subject: Astral Journey scenario: rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eon Chao
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
"An ancient tablet, said to reveal the locations of three powerful tomes, was hidden long ago in the Astral Plane by a powerful deity. Both Tiamat and Bahamut have recently learned of this tablet, and have sent many of their followers to the Astral Plane to discover its location.
The minions of the two dragon gods must navigate the vast, open realm with care. They must move to specific points as they make their way through this difficult plane, and they must traverse these points in the proper order in order to reach their goal. But the creatures must be wary, as the laws of physics function differently on this plane than on the Material Plane!"

Participation Prize: Mithral Full Plate equipment upgrade
Competitive Prize: Shadow Black Dragon card pack

Required components: Objective Tokens 1-5, 30 coins

Legion Construction: 150 Legion Points. Your Legion must be dedicated to either Bahamut (only Good and Neutral creatures) or Tiamat (only Evil and Neutral creatures). No creature may take Time Stop, anything that causes teleportation (Dimension Door, Teleportation of the Sphinx and Demonic Teleportation for example) or renders them impossible to be attacked (Burrow and Ethereal Stride for example).

Set up: Place Objective 1 face up in the centre of the board. Then deal the remaining 4 tokens to the two players, they may not look at the numbers. Each player places his two tokens anywhere on the board at least range 2 from the edge or other objective tokens. Once they have all been placed, carefully turn them face up and remove Objective 5, leaving just 4 tokens in play.

Special Rules: All creatures are considered to be floating as in space. They move as normal but if a creature has two maneuver dials they may select the one they use at the start of the planning step but should announce it before the maneuvers for creatures are chosen.

All creatures are considered on the same play level (in the air) and any ability that requires a creature to be on the ground is does not function. Creatures may not change altitude.

During movement any creatures whose base overlaps anothers has the option to either move or stop (same as flying vs ground movement). A creature performing a Wing Over maneuver that overlaps anothers base may decided to perform the 180 degree turn regardless of whether they move or stop as a result of the overlap.

Ground creatures may pass through each other without an overrun check and upgrades may not change a creatures altitude.

The objective tokens represent key locations in the Astral Plane, and a creature that passes through one of the tokens is said to have ventured deeper into the plane. These locations can only be entered by each individual creature in numerical order (first objective token #1, then objective token #2, and so on). The number of coins on a creature’s base (see below) will indicate how many locations he has already passed through. A creature is considered to pass through a particular location under the following circumstances:

1) if the creature’s maneuver template overlaps the objective token, even partially;
OR
2) if a creature’s base passes completely through an objective token without its maneuver template doing so;
OR
3) when a creature whose base had previously overlapped an objective token (without its maneuver template doing so) then proceeds to move off of that objective token.

When a creature passes through a location and the number on the objective token is exactly one higher then the number of coins on the creature’s base, then immediately place a new coin on the creature’s base. If a creature passes through a particular location prematurely or passes through the same location a second time, there is no effect.
Each time a creature receives a coin for passing through a new location for the first time, the creature may immediately pivot 90 degrees in either direction (for free). The creature does not receive a pivot token and can perform an action as normal.

IMPORTANT: A creature can only attack, damage, or use an action to a ect another creature if the target creature possesses the exact same number of coins on its base as the attacking creature. If a creature initiates an area attack, only those creatures with the exact same number of coins as the attacking creature are affected. Similarly, the effect of a burst token will only affect creatures who possess the same number of coins as the creature who placed the burst token.

End of Adventure: The adventure ends immediately when one of the following conditions has been met:

1) at the end of any round in which at least one creature has four coins on its base;
OR
2) at the end of any round in which at least one player’s creatures have all been eliminated;
OR
3) when time is called for the adventure.

If the adventure ends because at least one creature has four coins on its base at the end of the round, then the player who has the most creatures with four coins on their bases wins the adventure. In the event that both players have the same number of creatures with four coins on their bases, then the player who possesses the highest level creature with four coins on its base wins the adventure.
If the adventure ends because only one player has creatures remaining in the play area during the end phase, then that player wins the adventure. In the event that all remaining creatures are defeated during the same end phase, the player who owns the highest level creature that was defeated during the end phase wins the adventure. If more than one defeated creature is tied for the highest level, the tied creature that had initiative when the creatures were removed from play is considered the highest level.

If the adventure ends because time was called, then the player with the highest scenario point total wins the adventure.

Each player receives scenario points in the amount of:
[150 - Opponent’s legion remainder + 5 per coin on each of your survivng creatures]

A player’s legion remainder is equal to the number of legion points remaining in his legion; this includes any upgrades that were tucked beneath surviving creatures because the player discarded the upgrades to use their text ability. Any upgrades that received legion point discounts are considered to have these discounted values for the purposes of determining scenario points.

http://wizkids.com/attack…/dd-attack-wing-astral-journey-op/
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aron R
United States
Ashburn
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool scenario. but I don't really understand what this means:

Eonchao wrote:

2) if a creature’s base passes completely through an objective token without its maneuver template doing so;


Is the intention to slide the creature along the movement template to see if the base overlaps?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance: Available Now!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AronR wrote:
Cool scenario. but I don't really understand what this means:

Eonchao wrote:

2) if a creature’s base passes completely through an objective token without its maneuver template doing so;


Is the intention to slide the creature along the movement template to see if the base overlaps?


Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobb Beauchamp
United States
Volo
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's already talk of taking a huge base dragon and trying to park it on the first portal after getting the first token to try and block it, but the rules seem to prevent that from working, since the creature has to pass completely through the portal first for it to get the token. Still, if you could manage it first, even if you were close to the portal, you could be in a good position to pivot and get an attack in on creatures just passing through the portal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aron R
United States
Ashburn
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kingbobb wrote:
There's already talk of taking a huge base dragon and trying to park it on the first portal after getting the first token to try and block it, but the rules seem to prevent that from working, since the creature has to pass completely through the portal first for it to get the token. Still, if you could manage it first, even if you were close to the portal, you could be in a good position to pivot and get an attack in on creatures just passing through the portal.


So, if having your base move through the portal counts, this strategy seems counter-productive, because the act of you sitting on the portal will allow any creature to fly over you, which should then gain them a portal token. actually, they'll get it first, because your creature would have to move off the portal for you to gain one, which will happen on the next turn.

Incidentally, I'm really liking the mechanic where you can only attack creatures with exactly the same number of tokens. Seems like that can change tactics considerably, because even adjacent creatures cannot necessarily attack each other. that may change your decision on whether to overfly a creature or stop short, if you either want to fight or want to avoid being a target.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Kopacz
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AronR wrote:
kingbobb wrote:
There's already talk of taking a huge base dragon and trying to park it on the first portal after getting the first token to try and block it, but the rules seem to prevent that from working, since the creature has to pass completely through the portal first for it to get the token. Still, if you could manage it first, even if you were close to the portal, you could be in a good position to pivot and get an attack in on creatures just passing through the portal.


So, if having your base move through the portal counts, this strategy seems counter-productive, because the act of you sitting on the portal will allow any creature to fly over you, which should then gain them a portal token. actually, they'll get it first, because your creature would have to move off the portal for you to gain one, which will happen on the next turn.

Incidentally, I'm really liking the mechanic where you can only attack creatures with exactly the same number of tokens. Seems like that can change tactics considerably, because even adjacent creatures cannot necessarily attack each other. that may change your decision on whether to overfly a creature or stop short, if you either want to fight or want to avoid being a target.


I believe the rules say if the creature’s maneuver template overlaps the objective token, even partially your at the next level.

So its easy to have your template overlap slightly as you move onto of the token.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aron R
United States
Ashburn
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rekopacz wrote:


I believe the rules say if the creature’s maneuver template overlaps the objective token, even partially your at the next level.

So its easy to have your template overlap slightly as you move onto of the token.



But condition 3 says you get it when you leave the objective token. sounds like this scenario will take a good deal of interpretation. we'll probably need official clarification on precisely when the tokens are gained.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobb Beauchamp
United States
Volo
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's my interpretation:

The creature gets a token for (thematically) completely moving through the portal. This happens in game terms if the movement template overlaps at all the portal token. Andrew will need to clarify if touching but not overlapping counts. This could result in the creature's base partially overlapping the token in some cases, but the creature would still get the counter because any time the movement template overlaps the token, it gets a counter.

The second way you can get one is if the creature's base would pass over the token, following the path of the movement template.

Finally, a creature that ends a move with its base on the token will get a counter when it fully moves off the token.

Because every creature can overfly/move through every other creature, there's no way you can full block a token. But you could put a large creature in the area and make it difficult to line up a pass on the token. And you run the risk of the creature pulling a pivot to attack you as you fly through the portal. It could get real messy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Newell
Australia
Mayfield
New South Wales
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AronR wrote:
rekopacz wrote:


I believe the rules say if the creature’s maneuver template overlaps the objective token, even partially your at the next level.

So its easy to have your template overlap slightly as you move onto of the token.



But condition 3 says you get it when you leave the objective token. sounds like this scenario will take a good deal of interpretation. we'll probably need official clarification on precisely when the tokens are gained.

Yeah, so sopping on the portal isn't enough. You have to move completely through to go deeper into astral space and get a depth token. If your maneuver template overlaps the token then you have passed sufficiently, but if the template falls short but your base ends up overlapping the token, that is not enough. It seems very straightforward to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance: Available Now!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kingbobb wrote:
Here's my interpretation:

The creature gets a token for (thematically) completely moving through the portal. This happens in game terms if the movement template overlaps at all the portal token. Andrew will need to clarify if touching but not overlapping counts. This could result in the creature's base partially overlapping the token in some cases, but the creature would still get the counter because any time the movement template overlaps the token, it gets a counter.

The second way you can get one is if the creature's base would pass over the token, following the path of the movement template.

Finally, a creature that ends a move with its base on the token will get a counter when it fully moves off the token.

Because every creature can overfly/move through every other creature, there's no way you can full block a token. But you could put a large creature in the area and make it difficult to line up a pass on the token. And you run the risk of the creature pulling a pivot to attack you as you fly through the portal. It could get real messy.


Yes, this is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance: Available Now!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Captain Shagrat wrote:
AronR wrote:
rekopacz wrote:


I believe the rules say if the creature’s maneuver template overlaps the objective token, even partially your at the next level.

So its easy to have your template overlap slightly as you move onto of the token.



But condition 3 says you get it when you leave the objective token. sounds like this scenario will take a good deal of interpretation. we'll probably need official clarification on precisely when the tokens are gained.

Yeah, so sopping on the portal isn't enough. You have to move completely through to go deeper into astral space and get a depth token. If your maneuver template overlaps the token then you have passed sufficiently, but if the template falls short but your base ends up overlapping the token, that is not enough. It seems very straightforward to me.


This is correct, too!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aron R
United States
Ashburn
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Andrew Parks wrote:
kingbobb wrote:
Here's my interpretation:

The creature gets a token for (thematically) completely moving through the portal. This happens in game terms if the movement template overlaps at all the portal token. Andrew will need to clarify if touching but not overlapping counts. This could result in the creature's base partially overlapping the token in some cases, but the creature would still get the counter because any time the movement template overlaps the token, it gets a counter.

The second way you can get one is if the creature's base would pass over the token, following the path of the movement template.

Finally, a creature that ends a move with its base on the token will get a counter when it fully moves off the token.

Because every creature can overfly/move through every other creature, there's no way you can full block a token. But you could put a large creature in the area and make it difficult to line up a pass on the token. And you run the risk of the creature pulling a pivot to attack you as you fly through the portal. It could get real messy.


Yes, this is correct.


So, the part that I'm unclear on is when do you get a token if your base moved through an objective token, but ends its movement still touching the objective token? The second condition says that if it overlaps at any point you get a token, but the third one says that you wait until you leave the objective token. (A movement template can overlap an objective token with one end of the template stuck in the token.)

If I am interpreting your statement correctly, the intention is that you get a token when at least a portion of your creature's base passes over *and completely leaves* an objective token, which can happen in one or more movement phases.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance: Available Now!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AronR wrote:
Andrew Parks wrote:
kingbobb wrote:
Here's my interpretation:

The creature gets a token for (thematically) completely moving through the portal. This happens in game terms if the movement template overlaps at all the portal token. Andrew will need to clarify if touching but not overlapping counts. This could result in the creature's base partially overlapping the token in some cases, but the creature would still get the counter because any time the movement template overlaps the token, it gets a counter.

The second way you can get one is if the creature's base would pass over the token, following the path of the movement template.

Finally, a creature that ends a move with its base on the token will get a counter when it fully moves off the token.

Because every creature can overfly/move through every other creature, there's no way you can full block a token. But you could put a large creature in the area and make it difficult to line up a pass on the token. And you run the risk of the creature pulling a pivot to attack you as you fly through the portal. It could get real messy.


Yes, this is correct.


So, the part that I'm unclear on is when do you get a token if your base moved through an objective token, but ends its movement still touching the objective token? The second condition says that if it overlaps at any point you get a token, but the third one says that you wait until you leave the objective token. (A movement template can overlap an objective token with one end of the template stuck in the token.)

If I am interpreting your statement correctly, the intention is that you get a token when at least a portion of your creature's base passes over *and completely leaves* an objective token, which can happen in one or more movement phases.


I think we are on the same page. If the maneuver template touches the objective token, even a little, then you get the coin, even if part of you is still on the objective token after movement.

If the maneuver template falls short of the objective token (doesn't touch it), and that puts you on top of the objective token, you don't get the coin until you proceed on the following round.

The last part is for something that happened in a few of the playtests. If the maneuver template just misses the objective token without touching it (for example, it lands alongside the token), but your base would still cross through the objective token during movement, then you get the coin.

The only edge scenario remaining is if your maneuver template missed the objective token (for example, it lands alongside it), and your base passes partially over the objective token during movement but does not make it all the way through, then you do not receive the coin until the following round when you continue moving past the objective token.

Hope that helps!

Andrew

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.