Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Jyn/Verena Interrupt Combo of Death? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jordan Sorenson
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
The situation:

Verena runs into adjacency of a stormtrooper and ends her activation. The Imperial knows that Close Quarters is gonna trigger and they are gonna get rekt.

They activate the stormtrooper adjacent to Verena. Jyn says screw you I'm gonna use my Quick Draw and kill you first. She succeeds and the Imperial still has two more stormtroopers left to use.

But....Verena has her Close Quarters to use because an adjacent figure was defeated. Does this Close Quarters happen during Jyn's interrupt or after all stormtroopers have finished their activation?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It happens just after the figure is defeated, just at the point Jyn ends her attack.

(The imperial player learns quickly how to activate the figures in a proper order to block Jyn's line of sight and avoid triggering Quick Draw.)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan Sorenson
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Combo that with Admiral Ackbar's recon token that gives everybody line of sight to the target despite figures blocking the way....we are gonna do some work to the Imperial.

Edit: The biggest strength to the combo is that planning movements to avoid Jyn's quick draw are the OPPOSITE maneuvers to counter Verena's close quarters.

To avoid Jyn, you gotta cluster units together to block line of sight. To avoid Verena, you have to scatter your units to avoid them all dying in one glorious attack.

The strength of these two heroes together is unreal.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that Jyn's ability does not interrupt until the individual figure activates. The Imperial can easily choose to activate the two non-adjacent Stormtroopers before they activate the one adjacent to Verena. Better yet, they may have one of these figures block Jyn's line of sight to the one adjacent to Verena, so it can activate and move away without issue.

Yes, Loku might be aiding things, but he has to have already gotten that token onto the target for any of that to work.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jss05a wrote:
To avoid Jyn, you gotta cluster units together to block line of sight.

Not really.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan Sorenson
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Ha if you say so.

By nature of the game and the close quarters of it all, blocking sight lines usually means you're within a couple spaces of the person you are blocking for. A couple spaces is all you need for Verena.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you get a figure in the same row or column as Jyn, or force Jyn to stop in such a place, blocking is fairly easy. Well, unless you need to attack her and she has Quick as a Whip.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy N
msg tools
I think the better Combo of Death is using Diala to Force Throw a 1-health ST adjacent to Verena, killing it (or vice versa, throw Verena adjacent and then kill the ST).


We'd often do this to trigger Mak's disengage (Diala move, Diala attack, Diala force throw).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy N
msg tools
Though this does raise a question, if Verena is adjacent to multiple characters and they are defeated through Frag Grenade or Blast, does she get to trigger it multiple times?


The timing instance is the figure being defeated, so each character death is a separate timing instance (based on the Parting Shot belief that there are no simultaneous timing instances).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, each figure is defeated according to the timing order (Imperials first, then Rebels, and multiple figures of the same affiliation in the order chosen by the controlling player).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
jnad83 wrote:
Though this does raise a question, if Verena is adjacent to multiple characters and they are defeated through Frag Grenade or Blast, does she get to trigger it multiple times?


The timing instance is the figure being defeated, so each character death is a separate timing instance (based on the Parting Shot belief that there are no simultaneous timing instances).


Ha! That IS an interesting question... The picture in my mind of her grabbing the weapons of two or three dead troopers and blasting away with all of them is quite entertaining.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
jnad83 wrote:
Though this does raise a question, if Verena is adjacent to multiple characters and they are defeated through Frag Grenade or Blast, does she get to trigger it multiple times?


The timing instance is the figure being defeated, so each character death is a separate timing instance (based on the Parting Shot belief that there are no simultaneous timing instances).


Ha! That IS an interesting question... The picture in my mind of her grabbing the weapons of two or three dead troopers and blasting away with all of them is quite entertaining.

Arguably, they aren't all dead at the same time. You have to apply the damage one at a time too and resolve each defeat before applying damage to the next figure.... Which is kind of silly as she is taking shots off all the figures as they separately fall to the ground from the same grenade going off, but thems the rules!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy N
msg tools
csouth154 wrote:
jnad83 wrote:
Though this does raise a question, if Verena is adjacent to multiple characters and they are defeated through Frag Grenade or Blast, does she get to trigger it multiple times?


The timing instance is the figure being defeated, so each character death is a separate timing instance (based on the Parting Shot belief that there are no simultaneous timing instances).


Ha! That IS an interesting question... The picture in my mind of her grabbing the weapons of two or three dead troopers and blasting away with all of them is quite entertaining.


It also gets thematically sketchier if she uses non-modification abilities like Extra Ammunition to provide buffs to these attacks.


Edit: Overcharger and Spread Barrel are modifications.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jnad83 wrote:
It also gets thematically sketchier if she uses non-modification abilities like Spread Barrel, Overcharger, or Extra Ammunition to provide buffs to these attacks.


She might be the first character where buying the Overcharger is a smart move, to at least get 1 multiple chain each game.


Of those, only Extra Ammunition could be used. The others are modifications and only affect the weapon they are attached to.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy N
msg tools
Clipper wrote:
Arguably, they aren't all dead at the same time. You have to apply the damage one at a time too and resolve each defeat before applying damage to the next figure.... Which is kind of silly as she is taking shots off all the figures as they separately fall to the ground from the same grenade going off, but thems the rules!


Henceforth she shall be referred to as River Tam.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy N
msg tools
Clipper wrote:
Right, each figure is defeated according to the timing order (Imperials first, then Rebels, and multiple figures of the same affiliation in the order chosen by the controlling player).


That's not even the headache part.


The headache part is when she uses Combat Momentum to get adjacent to another character that is scheduled to die, but hasn't taken damage yet, from the same grenade.

(Though can be mitigated by choosing order wisely when allocating damage).



Or, the more realistic scenario is Verena being adjacent to a character that died via attack from Fenn and then proc'ed Blast (Blast is applied after an attack resolves), Verena uses Combat Momentum gaining 2 MPs to escape Blast, but still be adjacent to the characters affected by it.

Valid scenario due to deployment rules (camp her on the Spawn Point and let Fenn go first).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Liu
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
jnad83 wrote:
It also gets thematically sketchier if she uses non-modification abilities like Spread Barrel, Overcharger, or Extra Ammunition to provide buffs to these attacks.


She might be the first character where buying the Overcharger is a smart move, to at least get 1 multiple chain each game.


Of those, only Extra Ammunition could be used. The others are modifications and only affect the weapon they are attached to.


Bumping this. Seems like contradictory conclusions on Extra Ammo

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/218107-close-...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Extra Ammunition requires a
weapon, Verena is not performing a Close Quarters attack with any weapon, just the attack type and attack dice of the defeated figure. So, by RAW Extra Ammunition cannot be used with her CQ attacks, whatever the attack type.

There's also new information (well, quite old now) to the Blast discussion above - each figure and object suffers damage from Blast at the same time, only the effects of suffering damage equal to Health are resolved in the timing resolution order (attacker's choice?).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.