Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
(must get my sea legs)

I have several British ships in the LC box on Lake Erie. Naval leader Barclay, with 1 sloop, is in Ft. Malden.

I want to evacuate Ft. Malden by water, but can't figure out how.

Can the ships move to Ft. Malden from the LC box? What strength strategy card would be needed to do this?

Could the ships then come under the command of Barclay, load up with troops and head out to a lakeside town? Could this all be done in one turn?

Or would Barclay need to sail out to the LC box, round up all the ships, bring them back and load them up? And again, what strength card needed?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am no expert and it has been some time since I have played this game.

I believe the number on the card tells you how many ships you activate. You don't activate the land units, you just move into the port, load up, and move away. There is a naval movement cost chart that lays out the costs of this type of move.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
drmark64 wrote:
There is a naval movement cost chart that lays out the costs of this type of move.

Yes, but that chart (p.15 in rule book) makes no mention of moving FROM a LC box. Hence my confusion. (And in the specific case I mention, I don't think even a '3' card would move enough ships to allow me to do the evac.)

Perhaps the only answer is to use a '2' card to move Barclay from Ft. Malden to the box (1 MP), pick up the other vessels (0 MP), return to the fort (1 MP), pick up however many land units I can (1 MP), move to a lakeside town (1 MP) and drop the troops off (1 MP). That's 5 MP, within the power of a naval leader.

Gilbert?