Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Pandemic Legacy: Season 1» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about September reveal rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Pitts
United States
Aloha
OR
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding result of the search

Spoiler (click to reveal)
My wife and I have been playing 2 player and we just finished September. We had completed curing the three diseases and building the 6 military bases before finding the paranoid soldier.

When it came time to resolve the soldier effects, I was distraught that I'd have to destroy the quarantine specialist as she had been my main character. But then I looked through the other characters we had created and realized that the Operations Expert had the next birthday. Is he a valid target for the destruction even though he wasn't being used in the September game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's one of the questions that hasn't received an official answer.

The consensus so far is that any named character is fair game; unnamed characters probably don't count, and, of course, the game expects most people to have fallen into the trap and not need to worry about this.

At some point we may see an official ruling that will clarify the position on unnamed characters (and may disagree with the current consensus)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Pitts
United States
Aloha
OR
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the response.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan M
Canada
Regina
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
May be a bit late for my two cents, but I think any and all characters are subject to the reveal. I don't know why it matters if they are named or not. But as already stated, most people will likely take the bait. We did and it hurt bad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael ray
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
We ended up removing an un-named character, we've only used 5 characters total (Quarantine,medic,dispatch,researcher, scientist) and haven't used the scientist since the quarantine specialist showed up. We didn't fall into the trap of whatever the upgrade was that would cause them to be destroyed, so we went with closest birth date which got rid of the general(military officer guy, maybe not a general but some other rank?) if I remember correctly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mools wrote:
I don't know why it matters if they are named or not.

I think there are two general reasons to think it might:

1) You name a character when you "create" them. If a character hasn't been "created", then they don't "exist", so nothing should be able to happen to them.

2) If you took the "bait", then this is going to hit a character you're invested in (at least 2 total upgrades + relationships except in a very special case, and likely one of your main group). Therefore, balance-wise, it makes more sense if the alternate rules hit a character you're at least a little invested in, rather than some character you don't care about.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael ray
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Antistone wrote:
Mools wrote:
I don't know why it matters if they are named or not.

I think there are two general reasons to think it might:

1) You name a character when you "create" them. If a character hasn't been "created", then they don't "exist", so nothing should be able to happen to them.

2) If you took the "bait", then this is going to hit a character you're invested in (at least 2 total upgrades + relationships except in a very special case, and likely one of your main group). Therefore, balance-wise, it makes more sense if the alternate rules hit a character you're at least a little invested in, rather than some character you don't care about.


Has there been any official ruling on having to destroy a named character vs any character?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not that I'm aware of.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
squegeeboo wrote:
Has there been any official ruling on having to destroy a named character vs any character?

That question is on my list. I did point Matt Leacock at the thread, but as yet there's no response. )-8
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.