Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dr ?
United States
Midwest
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
How rough is this to learn? I don't have any coin games. I have war of the ring and conflict of heroes---handled those fine...

I think I simply have to buy it anyway from the looks of things, but just wanted a heads up....
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Carter
United States
Neptune
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm just learning the game myself. But from what I can tell, if you can handle War of the Rings, you can handle this. The playbook is really excellent at teaching how the game is played and once you get the basic flow, it's just a matter of figuring out what strategies actually work. And that's most of the fun. COIN games are a very different experience from all other games that I've tried. But, once they click, they're awesome. (And it becomes ten times easier to learn the next one.)

So, if you're feeling insecure, I say just download the Playbook and Rulebook from GMT, download the Vassal module and just see if you can figure it out.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Vote Often!
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, it does have a 40 page rule book and a 52 page playbook with 3 pages (and counting) of errata/clarifications. But, if you take your time I'm sure it's a doable learning experience.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Turner
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
MayorJim wrote:
Well, it does have a 40 page rule book and a 52 page playbook with 3 pages (and counting) of errata/clarifications. But, if you take your time I'm sure it's a doable learning experience.

Wow. This I didn't realize. Sounds like a Labour of love.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb