jim nail

Massachusetts
msg tools
Normally in ASLSK a unit routs to or towards the nearest woods hex or building. There are no woods on the Elst map and many areas with no buildings. For the British entering the west edge of the map there are no normal rout destinations. Would not Polder serve as a suitable rout destination in the absence of any woods or buildings? Or should the Brits employ Low Crawl and work their way to relative safety in grain or orchard hexes?

Jim
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Probst
Australia
Glen Waverley
VIC
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unless there is a special rule in DaE that covers it (and I have no idea if there is or not), welcome to one of the parts of "attacking across open ground" that really sucks.

Generally, Low Crawl is the order of the day.

Remember that you're not forced to rout if you can provide any sort of cover, even if it's only a hindrance from brush or grain. Being in any sort of terrain that isn't open ground is good enough, too (it doesn't have to have a positive TEM, it just has to not be OG). Also if you're not within normal range of an enemy unit/weapon, or if the enemy unit/weapon is Pinned/has any positive DRM applicable to it (e.g., CX, tank turret needs to change CA, etc.) then it cannot interdict.

Doesn't help much when it comes time to rally, but anything that can make you avoid interdiction is a positive step.

But to answer your question: no, you can't just substitute another terrain type when you're feeling exposed (again, unless the specific DaE rules say different).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Richardson
United States
Lindsborg
Kansas
flag msg tools
mb
You can learn more about routing in ASLSK here:

Explanation of the Rout Phase
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/122340/explanation-rout-...

For example:

What If I Don't Have A Legal Rout Destination?

If there are no woods or building hexes within 6 MF (3 MF for a wounded leader) of a routing unit, or if none of the woods and buildings within range are legal rout destinations due to the reasons listed in the previous section, then the routing unit does not have a rout destination.

A routing unit that does not have a rout destination can rout to any hex it wishes, as long as it obeys all of the other routing rules (it cannot move towards a Known Enemy Unit, it cannot move adjacent to a Known Enemy Unit, etc.). It does not have to move towards a distant woods/building hex, nor does it have to use all of its available MF.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jim nail

Massachusetts
msg tools
Thanks for your replies. I did re-read the Rout chapter in Jay Richardson's tutorial yesterday and understand the concept a little better. A polder hex could be a rout destination - not an official destination like woods or buildings - but just as a slightly safer place to hunker down while attempting to rally when no woods or buildings are available.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Topp
Australia
Canberra
ACT
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ASLSK RB 3.6 "If no building or woods can be reached during that RtPh, a broken unit may rout to *any* hex consistent with the above restrictions"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.