Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Calkins
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
As a designer, I like to invent new mechanisms, as much as possible. I do this to minimize overhead and luck. And for realism. Also, I want my game to be different and feel experimental.

Many game mechanisms involve too much chance. (Rolling dice, drawing cards or tiles.) I like hidden information better.

I want as much game (realism, strategy) as possible relative to the rules complexity and the time investment. The game should feel dense with thought and action, not slow with rules checking and delays.

Here's a few things I like about Tin Goose:

CONDITIONS

When you start the game, your airline is immature. You depict this with 5 condition cards face-up in your tableau, alongside your original fleet. You want to get rid of them. When you add a new fleet, you may remove a condition of your choice, so as the business gets bigger, it gets more mature. The conditions are things like "Irregular Safety Procedures" which adds to your risk level, and "Generous Dividends" that forces you to skip your income phase every turn.

THREE ERAS WITH SEPARATE DECKS

Play proceeds through three decks:
Gold (the mid 30's)
Blue (the late 30's)
Red (post-WW2)

In successive decks the planes fly farther and run more efficiently. But also the disasters get worse (crashes, oil shocks, and strikes). By the final turns, the next card could be a plane that can fly to any city on the board, or a triple-price oil event that forces several players into emergency loans.

HOW PLANES MOVE ON THE BOARD

In the first era all planes are small. In the second era we see the first medium planes (like the Boeing Stratoliner). And in the last deck there are a few large planes. Larger planes fly longer routes:

Small planes fly to cities directly connected by a thick black line.
Medium planes can fly to neighboring hexes (the board is divided into large hexes).