Brett Pidde
United States
Freeman
South Dakota
flag msg tools
I am loving the sailing theme and mechanics of The Grey Havens. This weekend some other players and I are going to give the first scenario a try. I'm doing a few solo test runs to smooth out rules and get used to things.

Alright, so my first question that has come up involves the Treachery card "Boarding Party" and the Enemy card "Cunning Pirate."

During the questing phase I reveal the Boarding Party which says "When Revealed: Each player reveals the top card of the Corsair deck and puts it into play, engaged with him." So since I'm playing solo I reveal one card from the Corsair deck and it turns out to be a Cunning Pirate. Now, Cunninh Pirate reads "Forced: When Cunning Pirate engages you, discard an attachment you control and place resources on Cunninh Pirate equal to that attachment's printed cost."

I'm wondering if the wording on Boarding Party "...puts it into play, engaged..." would trigger the Forced reaction on Cunning Pirate "When Cunning Pirate engages you."? It's the phrasing that makes me think it wouldn't trigger because Cunning Pirate comes into play already engaged, no engaging actually occurs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick
United States
Saint Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Btȝ patrem nrum, Benedictum
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it probably does trigger since it automatically engaged you when it entered play.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate Heitz
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed. We played that the affect triggers.

I've only played the first quest in the expansion, and it was a ton of fun.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Pidde
United States
Freeman
South Dakota
flag msg tools
All sources seem to be pointing that it triggers. Alas, it's always the tougher option that wins.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
after a few plays ive been playing it triggers i really wish it didn't!!!
so started not to play attachments until they are out..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Munn

Unspecified
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This question is explicitly answered in the FAQ. From page 13 of the printer-friendly version:

FAQ version 1.8 wrote:

Q: If an enemy is put into play directly engaged with me, has that enemy “engaged” me for the purposes [of] Forced effects or Responses that trigger from engaging an enemy?
A: Yes. An enemy that enters play directly engaged with a player has engaged that player.


The word "of" is missing from the FAQ entry, but that's a typo. The answer is yes, the "when Cunning Pirate engages you" text will trigger.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.