Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: 9.3 No surviving air or carrier units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick B
United States
Saint Louis
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Sorry if this is a "it's right there in what you just posted" question, but I want to be dang sure about this, since I think it's something we missed in our previous games.

9.3 "If the reaction player has one or more air or carrier units present, and the Offensives player has no surviving air or carrier units present, the Reaction player automatically wins the battle..."

So, just confirming, if the Offensives player only activates non-air naval units and ground units for the amphibious assault, all the Reaction player has to do is just activate a token air unit, have it survive the air/naval combat, and AA force gets defeated and has to turn back?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Igor Radic
Croatia
Zagreb
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Reaction player would take advantage to eliminate as much as he can of Naval units which conducts AA without air cover.
Moreover because Naval units can't hit air units outside the battle hex,Reaction player would try to activate as many AF's.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Vignuzzi
Canada
Burritts Rapids
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes - air rules. Even a reduced LRB can hold off every BB that Japan has if there is no accompanying air unit.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Colmenares
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
casadeisogniburritts wrote:
Yes - air rules. Even a reduced LRB can hold off every BB that Japan has if there is no accompanying air unit.

To add to what Andrew is saying, this is where it's useful to point out that some air unit capabilities are heavily abstracted. While a reduced LRB can't cause much (if any) damage it can cause a lot of disruption and make waters unsafe for vulnerable landing ships (which are not represented as counters in the game).

Remember, even reduced there are actually a lot of aircraft in that counter. The combat value is not an indication of quantity, just a capacity to inflict direct damage.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
simon
United Kingdom
Northampton
Northamptonshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
So if ground units alone move into an enemy hex containing only a CA (or BB) for instance, no air either side, assuming no reaction, the air naval battle is one side and the enemy CA gets to apply hits to the friendly ground units but not removing the last step, then the remaining ground units "win" the one sided ground battle ...taking the hex, and the CA would have to post battle move away?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Vignuzzi
Canada
Burritts Rapids
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Provided that the ground unit entered the port overland (AA invasion on a port with a naval unit requires escort) and the unit remained in the hex (it can move through the hex if it had remaining MPs), then yes - there is a battle with the CA/BB applying hits (if any) to the ground unit.

The battle ends and the CA/BB has to do ENM (not PBM).

If the ground unit moved through the hex, then there is no battle, the hex changes sides (it happened automatically as the unit entered the hex) and the CA/BB conducts ENM.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.