Royal Wootton Bassett
Sorry to ask this basic question, is the Movement and Combat phase dependent on the command card that I used? If I used the command card "Patrol", do I just move during Movement phase and cannot attack during Combat phase?
Anything ordered can attack in the combat phase - whether they move or not.
1) If I played the command card "Patrol" to issue an order to 2 units on the Left Wing, do I get to move 2 units during the Movement Phase and then order the same 2 units to attack, during the Combat Phase?
You can do this, or you could just attack with one or two of them (provided that they have somebody to attack). What you can't do is order two units to move and then use two completely different units to attack.
2) If I played the command card "Attack" to issue an order to 3 units on the Left Wing, do I get to move 3 units during the Movement Phase and then order the same 3 units to attack, during the Combat Phase?
Yes, just like I said above for Patrol cards (remember the units used to attack cannot be different to the units moved).
Should I simply just ignore the word "Patrol" or "Attack" as mentioned on top of the card as it don't seems to serve any purpose.
Yes, the wording is there for theme.
Apologise for this stupid questions as I have been trying very hard to figure this out after reading the rules twice and having played once.
No apology is necessary; glad I could be of help.