Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Worlds that produce cards as well as goods. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Laura "lelo" D. Arrowsmith Deddens Gerard
United States
Pearland (near Houston)
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Four of the worlds produce cards as well as goods.

During production, they only produce goods if they don't already have one.
Do they produce cards even if they already have a good? Or only when they produce a good?

The worlds and production powers are:

Gem World: Produce a Novelty (blue) good on this world and then draw a card.
Lost Species Ark World: Produce a Genes (green) good on this world and then draw two cards.
Comet Zone: Produce a Rare Elements (brown) good on this world and then draw a card.
Mining World: same as Comet Zone

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David B
United States
Chesapeake
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They only produce a card when they produce a good.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Désirée Greverud
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pfctsqr wrote:
They only produce a card when they produce a good.

why is that? I don't see the second part as being conditional on the first.
"Do X and then Do Y" Just because you can't do X doesn't mean you can't do Y. Shouldn't it say "Produce a good and if/when you do, draw a card" if card drawing is specifically tied to producing?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laura "lelo" D. Arrowsmith Deddens Gerard
United States
Pearland (near Houston)
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As I should have done first before posting, I just reread the part of the rule book about production and it says specifically
Quote:
Some worlds, such as Gem World, provide a card draw as part of producing a good.
If a good is already present, then no cards are drawn.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David B
United States
Chesapeake
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DragonsDream wrote:
pfctsqr wrote:
They only produce a card when they produce a good.

why is that? I don't see the second part as being conditional on the first.
"Do X and then Do Y" Just because you can't do X doesn't mean you can't do Y. Shouldn't it say "Produce a good and if/when you do, draw a card" if card drawing is specifically tied to producing?


The rules are clear. You simply need to read them.
5 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rydra Rydra
Spain
flag msg tools
rainbowrose wrote:

During production, they only produce goods if they don't already have one.
Do they produce cards even if they already have a good? Or only when they produce a good?


They only produce a card when one good of the given color is generated (it is not necessary to be for example Comet Zone the one to generate the resource, it can be another brown world the one to generate the good).

Exceptions are for example the running robots world (can't remember the exact name), where it produces a card only when that world produces a good.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rydra wrote:
They only produce a card when one good of the given color is generated (it is not necessary to be for example Comet Zone the one to generate the resource, it can be another brown world the one to generate the good).

No that's not correct, it's clear contradicted by the rules quote that rainbowrose gave above. If Comet Zone has no good on it place a good and draw a card. The fact the produce a good & draw a card icons overlap indicates that they are a single power - if there was a card where you drew a card even if you didn't produce a good then it would be indicated with two separate produce powers.



Ranaway Robots has a different icon & explanation text because it is a windfall - it can't have the same icon as Comet Zone as that would indicate you could produce a good on it.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Rydra wrote:
it is not necessary to be for example Comet Zone the one to generate the resource, it can be another brown world the one to generate the good.

This is not correct.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rydra Rydra
Spain
flag msg tools
zabdiel wrote:
Rydra wrote:
They only produce a card when one good of the given color is generated (it is not necessary to be for example Comet Zone the one to generate the resource, it can be another brown world the one to generate the good).

No that's not correct, it's clear contradicted by the rules quote that rainbowrose gave above. If Comet Zone has no good on it place a good and draw a card. The fact the produce a good & draw a card icons overlap indicates that they are a single power - if there was a card where you drew a card even if you didn't produce a good then it would be indicated with two separate produce powers.



Ranaway Robots has a different icon & explanation text because it is a windfall - it can't have the same icon as Comet Zone as that would indicate you could produce a good on it.


Ok, my mistake. Thanks for the correction
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laura "lelo" D. Arrowsmith Deddens Gerard
United States
Pearland (near Houston)
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks everyone for your help. And the pics.
The discussion really helps me solidify the rule in my head.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.