I've recently played my first couple of games of Twilight Imperium and I'm wondering about the transfer action. During our games it wasn't used *at all* (we were all noobs) and were even completely forgotten about by most. I've heard though that they are extremely useful and should really be used whenever possible *instead* of the tactical action.
In what sorts of situations should transfer actions be used?
Here's just one example. Let's say your Home System has a bunch of ships, and a good Space Dock. You want to build more ships there, but you also want to get the ships already there moved out to more "useful" positions (and to clear up room for more ships). If you used Tactical Actions, it would take you two "turns", and thus 2 Command Pool CCs, to do; one to move the ships into another system, and the second to build.
With a Transfer Action, though, you could do BOTH in one action (and only spend one Command Pool CC); Activate your Home System AND an adjacent system, move the ships out, then build at your home system.
But there already needs to be at least one unit (even a Ground Force on a planet) in the "adjacent" system, right? :-/
There are other situations where they are useful to; if you have to adjacent systems that you want to "redistribute" ships and GFs between them, the only "easy" way to do it is with a Transfer Action; that way, you can rearrange ships (within their movement limits, of course) with one simple action.
Can I move ships back and forth between the two systems as much as I like? For example, if I have a carrier in one system and Ground Forces on a planet in an adjacent system, can I move the carrier to pick them up then move it back to drop them off? :-/
I'm also confused about how PDS fire. I've read the rules a few times but every time it dumbfounds me. If I think I've got it straight is it true that:
> PDS can *only* fire at targets that are in the system that was just activated.
Correct; the exception is when the Deep Space Cannons technology is acquired; this tech allows the player to fire into adjacent systems as well as the system the PDS is in.
But PDS units, regardless of Deep Space Cannon or not, can *only* target ships in the activated system, right? DSC just lets you fire *from* an adjacent system...? :-/
> Opponent's PDS fire first (presumably at the ships you're moving into the activated system).
> Active player's PDS fire second (presumably at any opponents' ships that were already in the system prior to activation but before space combat begins).
Have I got this right? Is there anything else important I should know about PDS fire?
Just that PDS fire often works best in a grid of sorts; having 2 on a planet is very helpful; Having 2 on each planet in a 2 planet system (or 3 planet system) can be VERY potent, especially once you have Deep Space Cannons; this protects the system very heavily (6 shots!).
Is it common for a player to put all 6 of their PDS units in the same system? Is this just to protect a player's main Space Dock or source of resources? :-/
Also, sometimes (especially with Deep Space Cannons) it's possible to use them offensively; just activate an adjacent system and fire away; you don't even have to move ships in there.
I hope this helps, even if just a little.