Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Burkhard
United States
Fort Collins
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been playing T&E for awhile now, usually participating in 3-4 games at a time on BGG and playing a game or two per week face to face. The more that I play, the more different strategies I see. I am NOT an expert, by any means (as many of my opponents on BGG can attest,) but I have found a couple of nice plays in my time.

I don't want everyone to give up their best strategies, but a list of good tips might be helpful for new players.

A few that I have come up with:

- Place your key leaders, especially those attached to a Monument, on a temple with a treasure. This ensures that the tile cannot be "Disasterized," taking both of your leaders off of the board in one play.

- If, early in the game, an opponent is building towards an unattached treasure, hoping to grab it with a weak green leader, you can attach your Green Trader to the treasure. This works especially well if you have three or more green tiles in your mix. Your opponent must either forgo the treasure, or connect, forcing an External conflict. If he attacks, you have a good chance at pulling out your 3 tiles to beat him and grab an early fistful of green points.

- Sometimes, the end of the game is near and the score is close and your opponent must grab some green/blue/whatever color points to beat you. You notice that he has amassed a nice force to attack you with an external conflict. There are occassions when a retreat is the best policy. Pull your leader away from your civilization and place it in some far-off corner, where it cannot be attacked. Your opponent is stuck without a civilization to attack in the color that he needs. If you can then quickly follow up with a tile swap to end the game, even better.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Ben-Ezra
United States
Peoria
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Good T