Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Liberty or Death: The American Insurrection» Forums » Rules

Subject: Battles and 'other units'. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
andy bush

London
London
msg tools
mb
Already in love with this game - but have one initial question after first play through..

If during a battle where the Patriots are attacking the Brits and there happens to be 2 activated indian warpartys in the same region are those units factored in? (i.e. do the Brits get to add these units into the battle maths?) I can't work out that part of battle - does your 'ally' have to pay to be involved in your battle - or are they involved just because they are there?

help!

Andy
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron A
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Well, rules section 3.6.1 says:

Quote:
British may always use Indian pieces and Leader if a War Party is in the
space during the Battle.


So I would say 'yes' those units are factored in.

Per rules section 3.6.3

Quote:
If Defending, include all that Side’s cubes, Forts and half
of Active Militia or War Parties


so the 2 active War Parties count '1' in determining Defending Force Level. ...and since both are active, they do NOT give +1 in determining Attacker Loss Level.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
andy bush

London
London
msg tools
mb
Ace - thanks man!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harold Buchanan
United States
RSF
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ron is correct.

Here is how I think about it:

In a BATTLE space:

Defending Royalists and mixed
British make all calls on whether to Activate Underground War Parties
No Resources cost for either Faction
Both Royalist Factions participate

Defending Rebellion
Patriots make all calls on whether to Activate Underground Militia
No Resources cost for either Faction
Both Rebellion Factions participate




British Attacking
British make all calls on whether to Activate Underground War Parties
British pay for Battle Command
No Resource cost for Indians

Patriots Attacking
Patriots make all calls on whether to Activate Underground Militia
Patriots pay for Battle Command
If Patriots want to include French in the Battle then French must pay 1 Resource

French Attacking
If Patriots pay, French make all calls on whether to Activate Underground Militia
French pay for Battle Command
If French want to include Patriots in the Battle then Patriots must pay 1 Resource

Indians cannot initiate a Battle Command.



5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
andy bush

London
London
msg tools
mb
Thanks Harold and congratulations on a superb game. I love it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harold Buchanan
United States
RSF
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
buschenfeld wrote:
Thanks Harold and congratulations on a superb game. I love it.


Thanks Andy

I appreciate your support!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.