Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Axis Empires: Totaler Krieg!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on Retreat Priorities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Simone Melchiori
Italy
Vigarano Pieve
FE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a doubt about retreat priorities.
In a situation like this:



Suppose that Axis Infantry 5-6-2 and 6-6-3 attack russian infantry 1-1-2 in hex 3806 and obtain a Dr3.

The 6 hexes around russian infantry are in ZOC of attackking units or other axis units so retreat piority 1 doesn't apply so:

"Priority 2: If no hex exists that meets Priority 1, then the Retreat must enter a hex that is farther away from the defending hex than any
previous hex Retreated into, and it must contain a friendly ground,
Airdrop, or Air unit. "


Rule doesn't say that retreat path must be farther away from ATTACKING units. So in this case this unit can retreat to hex 3905 (an hex that is adjacent to attacking unit 5-6-2) or should retreat in Minsk that is farther away from both attacking units?

In my case unit both units 443 have already made an attack in this combat segment. Panzer 1P can still attack. So the final question is with Dr3 the soviet unit can retreat in hex 3905 then eliminate himself and other 1-1-2 unit in 3905. If russian can make this move the axis panzer can't attack because none unit is still adjacent to him.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uwe A. Redjac
China
Beijing
Beijing
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
melkios wrote:
Rule doesn't say that retreat path must be farther away from ATTACKING units.

Correct. Means: It must only be father away from the defending hex.

So the unit can retreat into hex 3905. Then it cannot retreat any further, so the remaining Dr2 must be taken as losses and everything in the hex is destroyed. Means the panzers can indeed not attack anymore.

Solution for the Axis player: Should have first attacked 3905 with the panzers, then attack 3806. Or better yet: Should have overrun the single step in 3905 with his multi-step panzer (3.2 if that had been an option during movement).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simone Melchiori
Italy
Vigarano Pieve
FE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
uweareuter wrote:
melkios wrote:
Rule doesn't say that retreat path must be farther away from ATTACKING units.

Correct. Means: It must only be father away from the defending hex.

So the unit can retreat into hex 3905. Then it cannot retreat any further, so the remaining Dr2 must be taken as losses and everything in the hex is destroyed. Means the panzers can indeed not attack anymore.

Solution for the Axis player: Should have first attacked 3905 with the panzers, then attack 3806. Or better yet: Should have overrun the single step in 3905 with his multi-step panzer (3.2 if that had been an option during movement).


Thank's for quick response

Also if axis attack before with panzer the defending unit could retreat and be eliminated in 3806. I'm trying A.2 Barbarossa scenario and overrun rules aren't still to read... A solution that i've seen without overrun was to move the 6-6-3 infantry unit to 3705 so if 1-1-2 sovien infantry retreat must goes to 3807. So also panzer can hope to inflict Dr3 with some attrition to unit that will retreat in Minsk and the city will be cleaned. Correct?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.