Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Shadowrun: Crossfire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you discard? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Hannam
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi - just started playing this great game and ran into an issue.

I have one obstacle left and both my runners have 4 cards in their hands. The obstacle has 1 level of damage left (the red symbol). Neither of my runners hold any red symbol cards and are unable to buy any.

Can we discard down to draw from our deck or are we basically out of luck?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Walker
United States
Madison Heights
Virginia
flag msg tools
See the Legendary forums for monthly solo leagues!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically yes. You just play extra cards during the play cards step, even though the damage won't do anything. You can go down to 3 cards like this and then draw.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
toeknee n
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome to the game!

Jason is correct. See page 24 25 of the rule book:
Q: Is it okay to apply damage from a card to a damage track level even if you won't clear that level as a means to use the card?
A: Yes, but any wasted damage is lost.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B S
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick clarification: If "Out of Ammo" card that only lets you play 2 cards a turn is in front of you, then you can't. So "discarding" is not possible, it's just that usually you can play extra cards. BTW this is a huge problem if you have a hand of 6 cards and No Holding Back is the crossfire...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark T
United States
Southern MD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Huger wrote:
Quick clarification: If "Out of Ammo" card that only lets you play 2 cards a turn is in front of you, then you can't. So "discarding" is not possible, it's just that usually you can play extra cards. BTW this is a huge problem if you have a hand of 6 cards and No Holding Back is the crossfire...


Not sure what the text is on "Out of Ammo", but if it limits you to playing 2 cards per turn, you can still play 1 from your hand (even though it will do no damage if it doesn't meet the color requirements) of 4 and then be able to draw 2 more in the draw cards phase of your turn.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.