Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
29 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Paydirt» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to figure out a team's relative strengths, and what defense is a a draw play good against? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Otis Comorau
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
Dear All,

I'm new to this game (first game of 2011 DDF yesterday) and it was great! I just have two quick questions:

1) Is there a way to quickly figure out what a team's relative strengths and weaknesses are, on both offense and defense?

When I choose a team, I want to have some sort of overarching strategy. Like: "my team is a good short-passing team. So, I'll select more short passing plays than I would if I had selected a bad short-passing team." The problem, at least for me, is that I can't tell from a team's offensive and defensive charts whether it's relatively good or bad at each play type. Of course, this problem is somewhat ameliorated by the fact that each team has a recommended number times each play can be called (so, for example, I can't call "short pass" every down, even if this would theoretically be a strong strategy for certain teams), and that the down, distance, and game situation will often favor certain plays (for example, if a team is down 7 at their own 20 with 1 minute to go, even a relatively bad long-passing team will probably attempt a deep throw). But still, within these confines, there are a lot of options and it'd be nice if I could easily figure out what my team is relatively good (and relatively bad) at. Also, for defense, there are no play-calling limitations (that I know of).

2. What type of defense does a draw play work well against, as compared with other types of runs?