Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Thrash'n Roll» Forums » Rules

Subject: Could I get a full breakdown of the timing of taking actions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Tucker
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
A game is a series of decisions; a good game is a series of interesting decisions
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The English Rules for the 2 dice action at Anty Radio say "The player gains points equal to the number of fans in his or her hand. After this action ends, the player chooses one of his or her album counters to move 2 places right on a single chart. Additionally, the player can discard one scandal card."

The player aid and & erratum says "Fame equal to: number of fan cards in hand. Move any single two steps. Discard one scandal card."

While I know that the erratum takes precedence, and thus clarifies the single not album, the less specific wording of aid implies that the single movement is the second thing done during the action, instead of after the action ends as the rules stated. Is this correct?
If not, and the single movement is supposed to occur at the end of the action, is this before or after the special ability of an applicable support card?

Moving a single is one of the things that can initiate a hit war, but neither the rules nor the erratum state whether the hit war is resolved immediately, interrupting the action that caused the hit war, or how many of the parts of the action are completed before the hit war is resolved. If the hit war is resolved immediately, could a player that took the 2 dice action at Anty Radio take a scandal to win a hit war incurred by their single movement and immediately discard that single as part of the same action?
If the hit war is supposed to be resolved after the action is completed, is that before or after support cards are resolved? Could a player use a Ginger support card to give away a Scandal taken to win a hit war that the action where the Ginger support card was used (I believe there are 3 Ginger cards that trigger at Anty Radio)?

For clarification, it is correct that a player could take a scandal to get their second or third (virtual) die to take an action at Anty Radio and then use that action to discard that scandal, yes?

Additionally, just to clarify about taking scandals to perform an action in a location at which the dice limit has run out:
This still does not let a player get around the rules for Anty Radio that actions with costs covered by airtime counters are unavailable and if there are no airtime counters in the pool, players cannot perform actions in the radio, correct?
How does this work (if it does work at all), if a player wants to take a 3/4 dice action at location that has fewer spaces for dice available, and not enough resources to make up all the virtual dice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysztof Matusik
Poland
Andrychów
Małopolska
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tuckerotl wrote:
The English Rules for the 2 dice action at Anty Radio say "The player gains points equal to the number of fans in his or her hand. After this action ends, the player chooses one of his or her album counters to move 2 places right on a single chart. Additionally, the player can discard one scandal card."

The player aid and & erratum says "Fame equal to: number of fan cards in hand. Move any single two steps. Discard one scandal card."

While I know that the erratum takes precedence, and thus clarifies the single not album, the less specific wording of aid implies that the single movement is the second thing done during the action, instead of after the action ends as the rules stated. Is this correct?
If not, and the single movement is supposed to occur at the end of the action, is this before or after the special ability of an applicable support card?

gaining fame is the first thing. Moving sinle up is the second thing and discarding scandal card is the last thing. And then you can use special ability of the support card.

tuckerotl wrote:

Moving a single is one of the things that can initiate a hit war, but neither the rules nor the erratum state whether the hit war is resolved immediately, interrupting the action that caused the hit war, or how many of the parts of the action are completed before the hit war is resolved. If the hit war is resolved immediately, could a player that took the 2 dice action at Anty Radio take a scandal to win a hit war incurred by their single movement and immediately discard that single as part of the same action?

Hitwar is resolved immediately. And yes you can take scandal card to win it, BUT see below...

tuckerotl wrote:

If the hit war is supposed to be resolved after the action is completed, is that before or after support cards are resolved? Could a player use a Ginger support card to give away a Scandal taken to win a hit war that the action where the Ginger support card was used (I believe there are 3 Ginger cards that trigger at Anty Radio)?

For clarification, it is correct that a player could take a scandal to get their second or third (virtual) die to take an action at Anty Radio and then use that action to discard that scandal, yes?

You CAN NOT take a scandal card and discard it in the same turn.

tuckerotl wrote:

Additionally, just to clarify about taking scandals to perform an action in a location at which the dice limit has run out:
This still does not let a player get around the rules for Anty Radio that actions with costs covered by airtime counters are unavailable and if there are no airtime counters in the pool, players cannot perform actions in the radio, correct?

Correct
tuckerotl wrote:

How does this work (if it does work at all), if a player wants to take a 3/4 dice action at location that has fewer spaces for dice available, and not enough resources to make up all the virtual dice?

So, you can not perform that action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Tucker
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
A game is a series of decisions; a good game is a series of interesting decisions
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
matoozik wrote:
tuckerotl wrote:

How does this work (if it does work at all), if a player wants to take a 3/4 dice action at location that has fewer spaces for dice available, and not enough resources to make up all the virtual dice?

So, you can not perform that action.

So, for example in a 4 player game, there are 7 spaces for dice at the Venom Nest. If a previous player placed 3 dice there for their action, and I wish to take a 4 dice action there, I am generally best off coming up with a virtual die for exactly 1 die, leaving exactly 1 space for a die, because this would mean that if either of the other 2 players wanted to take an action there, they would need to come up with at least 2 virtual dice (instead of being able to take a scandal to ignore the dice limit), because the dice limit would not yet have run out?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.