Cole Biere
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Case [9.7.4] states that "Following (damaged) Capital Ships is not automatic", requiring a modified DR for success…

Does this apply to Warships and Escorts as well?

Warships (and by association Escorts) are referenced re: Following rules at the beginning of the paragraph [9.7.4], but not in the sentence quoted above.

Would it be correct to assume that this exception applies to Capital Ships only? Or is the inclusion of Warships and Escorts implied?

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heya Cole,

9.7.4 applies only to Capital ships as written. It is automatic to follow a damaged warship (non-capital anything) or escort.



Greg



EDIT: Actually, this woke me up from sleep when I realized why I had done it this way.

Although the escorts and warships are essentially going as fast as a Capital ship, following them is automatic if they are damaged. Why ?
It's like, half their hit points - most DDs, for example, take 2 hits to sink. Since it's not dead, you've probably at least crippled it. It won't be chugging along at 30 knots anymore, that's for sure.

The same is true to a lesser extent for the "larger" warships, say, the CLs. Nonlethal damage is almost guaranteed to significantly slow it.

So, whew. I did it right. I just didn't remember why, and replied too quickly.

I hope that makes sense,
Greg
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Biere
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Ah, that makes good sense. Thanks for the elucidation Greg.



3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Biere
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
I'm really starting to garner an appreciation for how finely tuned a game SV seems to be. How specific DRMs work together to model things like speed and proximity in the context of combat, for example. A lot of nuance is captured and conveyed with fairly simple mechanics. It's all there and square - if you care to look (some real delicacy and detail behind the numbers on the charts).

EDIT:

YIKES - I need to stop rereading rules and report to the Blackfish!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Biere
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Brilliant! Of course.

Again, "that makes (damn) good sense…"

Had I put some counters down on the mat, I might have seen how this works…

Practical application, can't beat it.

Weird, your edit makes my follow up comment even more fitting…

Good catch Greg!



PS jeez, I nearly screwed everyone out of a crucial variable with my Whys and Wherefores!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Cole,

It's all good Sometimes I feel like I'm defending my doctoral dissertation. LOL.

However, it's good to go back sometimes and remember "Now, why did I did it that way???" Usually there's a good reason, IF I can remember it.

Hopefully I'm not starting to suffer from memory loss. It HAS been awhile since I wrote it....just takes awhile for my Consim partners to make it all beautiful like they did

Greg
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sturmer wrote:
Heya Cole,

9.7.4 applies only to Capital ships as written. It is automatic to follow a damaged warship (non-capital anything) or escort.

Greg


Now I had this exact question from the last game I played. But one other nuance I thought of is, if an Escort is damaged while escorting a Ship or two will the Ship(s) it was escorting stay with the escort for the protection of its guns and sub finding equipment?

This is assuming that the encounter is a Ship + Escort or Two Ships + Escort. I would believe a Capital Ship or a War Ship has a small cadre of escorts.

Thanks,
Jim
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Lillibridge
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
"...if an Escort is damaged while escorting a Ship or two will the Ship(s) it was escorting stay with the escort..."

Does someone have an answer on this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.