Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Commands & Colors: Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Warrior Can't Close Combat After Moving Two Hexes Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Clark
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mb
If you move a warrior two hexes, but the unit it was going to battle is eliminated or has retreated as a result of battle with another unit, does anything happen? I found this discussed in the link below, but I was wondering if there was a definitive interpretation.


https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/97632/warrior-question
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Hiesterman
United States
Aurora
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
I wish to kill you, be at rest as to that, but to kill you quietly in a snug, remote place, where you will not be able to boast of your death to anybody
badge
Caught trouser-free in open country...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"...if at the end of that movement they are eligible for close combat"

I'm not sure how more definitive it needs to be. At the end of their movement they were eligible for close combat, (there was an enemy unit there) so the move is legal.
8 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Chipman
United States
Zephyrhills
Florida
flag msg tools
RoccoTerrier wrote:
If you move a warrior two hexes, but the unit it was going to battle is eliminated or has retreated as a result of battle with another unit, does anything happen? I found this discussed in the link below, but I was wondering if there was a definitive interpretation.


https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/97632/warrior-question


page 9 of the rules say:

Quote:
A warrior unit that moves two hexes must then battle in Close Combat
(if any possible targets remain)


seems pretty clear

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
my eye
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, it's pretty clear. But note that qualifier in parentheses (if any possible targets remain) didn't appear until the third edition of the rules.

nunyabisnas wrote:
page 9 of the rules say:

Quote:
A warrior unit that moves two hexes must then battle in Close Combat
(if any possible targets remain)


seems pretty clear

7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We should buy the guy who wrote 3rd Edition a beer!
18 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
my eye
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kduke wrote:
We should buy the guy who wrote 3rd Edition a beer!

One coming your way if ever our paths cross.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
RULES EDITOR: Kevin Duke
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.