Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Silent Victory: U.S. Submarines in the Pacific, 1941-45» Forums » Rules

Subject: Air Attacks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Wardle
msg tools
Just a couple of quick questions.

On the bottom of the (A1) Aircraft Encounter chart it states that "Successful Air Attacks receive a +2 modifier on the Escort/Air Attack Chart (E3). However the bottom of the (E3) Chart shows only +1 for Air Attack.

Also, is it just a misprint that the first column on the (E3) chart shows only Escort 41 - 43 and not Air/Escort 41 - 43.

Apologies if these have already been answered.

Thanks
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark mcleod
United Kingdom
Birkenhead
Wirral
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Am pretty sure that's a misprint on the A1 chart, should be only the +1 DRM.
Chart E3 is correct, no misprint.
If an Aircraft attack then use the second column (Air/Escort July 43+) for all Air Attacks no matter what month and year.
The July 43+ note is for Escorts only, so up to June 43 use left column and any Escort depth charge attacks starting in July 43 or after use the right column.
Hope that helps

Mark
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Biere
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
I don't have the game in front of me, but I believe I can answer your second question.

As Mark has stated, chart (E3) is NOT a misprint. Incoming air attacks ALWAYS roll on the second column, regardless of the year. Given the conditions, aircraft have a greater chance to hit and hit hard (IE you're a sitting duck, they can see you and they've caught you largely unawares).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have The Hunters you'll see chart E3 has a +2 for air attack. I'll wait for Greg to confirm, but believe +1 is correct for Silent Victory, the difference reflecting just how effective Allied ASW aircraft were when they caught a U-boat.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey all,

The mod is +1. The rules (9.8.2) and chart [E3] are correct.

Small typo on the chart [A1] footnote, which fortunately isn't where people are looking when they actually prosecute the attack.

Greg.

PS and yes, that's not a mistake. Air attacks ALWAYS use the second column. Escort depth charging uses different columns based on the date.

Greg
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Wardle
msg tools
Thanks for the replies. I shall now leave Pearl Harbor to do my duty.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max
United States
Fuquay Varina
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Reign of Fire
badge
Bombs Away! Mission 9.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In subsequent printings, it might be a good idea to list it as Escort July 43+/Air - or do people think that's worse?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think it's worse, but then I thought the original was equally clear.

Maybe "Air Any Year/Escort July 43+" would be more specific, but it's also a bit clumsy. "Air Dec 41+/Escort July 43+" maybe, but not having a date included already means "always".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.