Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
30 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Works in Progress

Subject: [WIP] Nano Mechs: Entry for the 9-card Nano game contest (Component Ready!) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robin Armstrong
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been kicking around ideas for the 2016 9-card Nanogame Contest for some time now, and even threw out a prelimiary idea in a previous thread. With the contest deadline looming, I've finally decided to post what I've got so far and build from there. I'm hoping to get it completed in time; if not, I'll likely still work on this.

Cards: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6pkwny8qv05X1BXTmJVeTlUSDg...
Rules: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6pkwny8qv05OGwzYTVuX2FYSUU...

Edit: slightly updated rules for clarification

Components:
9 grid cards (from file)
4 d6 dice (best if two different colors)
8 cubes (4 of 1 color and 2 each of 2 different colors)

At this point, I'd like to be entered in the following categories:
Best New Designer
Best 2-Player Game

Working Title: NanoGames
So, here's my idea: the game itself will consist of 9 cards, 4d6 dice (of two different colors), and 8 cubes (2 each of 2 different colors and 4 of a third color). Players will provide the dice and cubes for the print and play. The idea is that this is a game kit that can be used to play several different 2-player games, rather than a single game. Think of it like a deck of cards, in that the games that can be played using it vary. So far, I have three ideas for "mini-games" (NanoGames?).

Mini-Game 1: NanoMechs
In this competitive game, players control 2 tokens each (representing battle mecha) and defend their base while gathering Power to become the dominant force on the field.

Mini-Game 2: NanoQuest