Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian B.
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
char(filter(1,[1 -1],[66 5 0 -39 82 -3 -12 8 8 -82]))
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome to the BGG CON 2016 travel guide thread!

This thread is meant to help you with your travel questions to BGG CON 2016. I travel for a living and have experience with this; you can see my flight stats and flight map here. I've split this guide into flight, car, and hotel.

What's new for 2016?
For those who are familiar with the guide from past years, there's really only one change: the addition of Google Flights as a site to check for pricing. I have fallen in love with that site.

Without further ado, here's the full travel guide...

Flight
You are probably going to want to fly into Dallas/Ft. Worth International airport (airport code DFW), unless Love Field offers savings (more below). Almost all major airlines fly into DFW. American Airlines has a hub at DFW, which means they have by far the most non-stops into and out of the airport. However, DFW is one of the classic cases of airlines charging significantly more to fly nonstop to rather than taking a connecting flight. It's up to you and your budget vs. time constraints.

Dallas also has a second airport, Love Field (code DAL). With the Orange Line having opened between Love Field & DFW, you should also check fares there. Southwest is the primary tenant at Love, but a couple of other airlines fly there as well. More on Southwest and getting from Love to DFW below.

Websites to check for cheap pricing
Ah...the question as old as Internet travel agencies themselves. Here's the order I like to check things in: