Hide
7 Posts

Cthulhu Wars» Forums » General

Subject: Game Balance versus Increasing Pool Size rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
rcket scientst
msg tools
Greetings and felicitations. I am new to the game and was wondering about increasing the number of figures available in the pool size available for each faction. Is there any general rule for making more cultists/monsters available for each faction (if somehow one could obtain more models.)

Primarily, I was wondering if I increased the available number of cultists from six to eight would I be creating an imbalance in power between the factions. Since each faction can use them slightly differently, I do not have enough experience with the game to tell if it is viable.

Thanks

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
[This space intentionally left blank]
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd not mess around with the game balance unless you have played the game a few times or preferably a lot.

At first glance, giving each faction more cultists will give each faction the potential to have more power and if power becomes less scarce then the cost of actions might not be accurate anymore.
If more monsters are available then their special abilities can be used more often. E.g. ghouls can now inflict more than two pains in a single battle.
Black goat will also have an easier time obtaining spell books since more units = easier to spread out and share areas while still maintaining protected gates.
Nyarlathotep will have an easier time capturing a cultist if there are more on the board.
And the list of impacts will go on and on. I'm pretty sure the Petersens have played around with different numbers of each unit and found this the most balanced.

If you want to do it and are just lacking miniatures look at the current Kickstarter for creating Pathfinder rules for Cthulhu monsters. They are selling the same minis used in Cthulhu Wars as part of it.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide