Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Champions of Midgard» Forums » Rules

Subject: Worker placement VS Affordability. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
brian pittman
msg tools
I haven't found this answer in the forums...


Is it permitted to place a worker in a spot like the Merchant Ship or market stall even though you cannot afford to pay the cost of the deal?

Or place your worker on "The Market" an not exchange goods? Just take it so no one else can?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Brown
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 6 of the rules:

Begging - If you find yourself unable or unwilling to activate a board location, you must Beg. To Beg, lie a worker down on your player board then take 1 Food and 1 Blame from the supply.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jooice ZP
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But if you place your worker on your player board, doesn't that mean you DO NOT block anyone?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steven smolders
Belgium
Heist-op-den-Berg
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
badge
Love to play boardgames with my family and spending time toghter
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jooice wrote:
But if you place your worker on your player board, doesn't that mean you DO NOT block anyone?


Still if you can't do an action for any reason you still take blame
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jooice ZP
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have seen (once or twice) when a player really needed 1 food and therefor begged (taking the blame/shame).
But its not like any position besides fighting enemies isn't resolved right as you place it.
So its not like you can be caught with your pants down, not having the cost for a place.

As far as enemies, you could always choose not to send any warriors to battle, you do not HAVE to beg.

So once again begging is a choice.

You MAY beg if you need that food.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan Booth
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This question has been answered by the rules writer:

Karmic_devil wrote:
When you assign a worker to a location, you are compelled to activate it.
Brown and blue locations are instantly resolved and so they must be activated.


Unfortunately he still used the word "may" which continued to cause confusion in a couple threads.

The confusion has been lifted thanks to the new official updated rules. On page 8, the rule for begging has changed the "may" to "must". Now it is unambiguously clear that the choice is not whether or not to take blame when you beg, but whether to perform an action on the board or beg and take blame.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.