GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,916 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Formula D» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spinouts and Engine Damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John D'Alessandro
msg tools
When a car spins out, it resumes play on its next turn in first gear. What gear is it considered to be in for the remainder of the turn on which the spinout occurs? The situation we had that necessitated this went something like this:

On the first lap of a wet race in Buddh, the 5th place car spun out having overshot Turn 3 in 6th gear. The 6th place car then immediately proceeded to roll a 30 in sixth gear. Now, must the 5th place car roll for engine damage?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Hoyt
United States
East Liverpool
Ohio
flag msg tools
ボルトン
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

In this situation I would not have the spun out car roll to check for engine damage due to pushing the engine.
I would consider him off the gas pedal either way when he went into a spin... and thus not stressing the engine...

~Will



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niels Kjær
Denmark
Malling
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
If you play bu the Masters Rules, you must check for engine damage on the spun out vehicle:

Masters Rules, page 20 wrote:

10-4 special case : the spinout

10-4-1
– When a driver crosses out his last tire point (PdV), his car spins out. The car stays where it is, but it is turned around to face the opposite direction. The shifter also stays in the current gear. At the end of the round of play, the driver will turn the car in the right direction again, and the shifter will be placed in 1st gear for his next move.

...

10-4-4
– No one can slipstream a spun out car.

10-4-5
– A spun out car must roll for engine tests if its current gear is 5 or 6

.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The gear change doesn't happen before you start the next turn, so I would definitely argue FOR rolling.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed. As per the rules, you don't shift down to first until the next turn to get going again, so you would still be in 5th at the time and need to roll.

You have to take into consideration that everything is happening simultaneously in the game. Turns are only there to make it easier to play. In that respect, you are still in 5th gear at the time of the spin, maybe losing traction on the tires and over reving is what cause the engine damage?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Hoyt
United States
East Liverpool
Ohio
flag msg tools
ボルトン
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All good points!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.