GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,201 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Sam Iam
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm playing through my first career with this game and it is awesome. I haven't played a lot of historical simulation wargames, but Silent Victory is making me reconsider. I'm hoping more experienced players can help me with a question:

I wound up in a situation where I attacked a convoy and damaged a large tanker, was detected by escorts, received damage to my periscope, and then was finally able to escape detection and slip away. I was unable to repair the periscope damage, so it became inoperable. So now, for the rest of the patrol, I can only conduct surface attacks.

When I look through the rules, I can't find any prohibition against conducting a daytime surface attack against a ship under escort. Nor do there seem to be any modifiers on the [E2] Escort Detection Chart for doing so. I feel like I must be missing an important rule because a daytime surface attack against a ship under escort should be very risky.

Now in the case of the damaged tanker I am following, I know I can choose to engage in the day or night per [9.7.5], but what about the next encounter in the patrol that happens in the day?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Schall
United States
Evans City
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi. You CANNOT attack an escorted ship on the surface--ever- in daylight. If your periscope is out, the only option is to hope for night (or if damaged you can pick night-for a surface attack. If daylight, you can try for night (1-4 success, 5-6 lost contact).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Iam
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Christopher. What you are saying makes sense, since a daytime surface attack would be fairly reckless tactic with escorts present. I think the rules should make it unambiguous, though. I've read through them a couple of times but I must have missed it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Airborne wrote:
If daylight, you can try for night (1-4 success, 5-6 lost contact).
This was the rule for The Hunters.

In SV, you fail only on 6, but have a +1 drm if SJ Radar not present or inoperable [rule 8.3.2]. Same for following undamaged ship or convoy [see 9.7.7].

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Zinnboni
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mb
See 9.4.6 notes & 9.5.1
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Iam
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
13biscuits wrote:
See 9.4.6 notes


Ah. There it is. Thank you very much!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George P.E., PMP, DM
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Hourglass Realm D&D 5e Play by Forum (PbF) Campaign DM (we'd love to have you join us!)
badge
U.S.S. Tautog (SSN 639) doing an emergency blow with me on it (see profile for details)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you should be able to do anything you want - once devil Of course you're taking your entire (virtual) crew down with you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.