Manhattan Reject wrote:
This card came up in our last game and provoked a slightly different question.
As it is representing a massacre is the piece removed to casualties if it is a cube or fort? I presume not as it does not say this implicitly on the card, but thematically why wouldn't it?
As EV says - Available unless otherwise specified.
Thematically it is a massacre of Indians who don't impact Casualties - certainly not the women and children massacred here. I chose to open the removal to all factions to reflect the potential emotional uprising against another faction.
If you feel strongly treat them as Casualties - In my mind the rules are a starting point. As I have said before I rarely honor the rules in any game I play. I believe more wargamers could benefit from the freedom of modification!