GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,609 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Wir sind das Volk!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card Almanac Entries for Dual Cards with Police Power (15, 21, 51) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are three Dual Cards with police power icons:
15: Stalinist purges
21: Career bans for critical socialists
51: Spring-guns on the border

As Dual Cards, they are all subject to the following rule (from 6.4): "When you trigger a Dual Card event, you may ignore 1 arrow (from an icon with arrows) or 1 icon without arrows (even a police power icon)."

The Card Almanac provides the following clarification for each of these cards: "West may ignore the police power icon."

Am I correct that West has no special ability to ignore a police power icon here - beyond the normal ability to ignore an icon on a Dual Card? That this is solely for emphasis (like the parenthetical in 6.4) and that West cannot ignore the police power icon and use the 6.4 ability to ignore another?

Given that these are the only non-Red cards with police power icons, I wonder whether something like the following might have been more helpful: "If West plays this card and does not choose to ignore the police power icon, the icon is considered executed and the card is put in front of East, who may uses it later to remove 1 of its unrest
counters."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Card Almanc Entries for Dual Cards with Police Power (15, 21, 51)
Quote:
Am I correct that West has no special ability to ignore a police power icon here - beyond the normal ability to ignore an icon on a Dual Card? That this is solely for emphasis (like the parenthetical in 6.4) and that West cannot ignore the police power icon and use the 6.4 ability to ignore another?


Correct. You really do have a way of picking out possible confusions that no one has ever actually made
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
qwertymartin wrote:
You really do have a way of picking out possible confusions that no one has ever actually made.

I can honestly say that it's my job (although doing so in rules for board games is just a hobby).


PS - And at least I don't get confused like the poster of this thread.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Nip
Hong Kong
Taipo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gillum, you are definitely confused if you think I was confused. Quoting my old post would not make you any smarter.

I agree with Martin that you are "picking out possible confusions that no one has ever actually made".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.