Here the truceless armies yet / Trample, rolled in blood and sweat; / They kill and kill and never die; / And I think that each is I. // None will part us, none undo / The knot that makes one flesh of two, /
Sick with hatred, sick with pain, / Strangling -- When shall we be slain? // When shall I be dead and rid / Of the wrong my father did? / How long, how long, till spade and hearse / Puts to sleep my mother's curse?
One more time - do Topple cards that move down to the '0' cost row in the Market columns get discarded at the end of your turn, the way normal Headline cards would, and thus not take effect (i.e. no Topple check)?
Or, when this happens (because nobody bought and played the Topple card), do you still check to see if Diaz is toppled based on the current Regime, per the Topple rules?
Interestingly, this is actually answered in the living rules.
Section D.2 begins as follows (emphasis added): "Discard Headlines - Discard without effect any Headlines in the zero-cost column in the Market. Headlines are cards with bull or a bear icons in their corners, including Topples."