Just wanted to make sure: when a mortar fires smoke does it have to be as adjacent or can it be anywhere in its normal firing range? I'm plaything though the second solo scenario and it seems like the mortars are not terribly useful if they can't shoot smoke more than one space away...
Just to add to Lewis Karl's excellent response, here's the relevant part from the rules:
13.1 Unit Smoke Capability wrote:
Mortars that are 8cm (80mm) or larger, all Off-Board Artillery, and Pioneers may fire smoke unless disallowed by the Firefight. Other units may not fire smoke, unless permitted by the Firefight. Tanks and guns that can fire smoke rounds may target hexes within the same range as their normal attacks, including long range. Pioneer units may only place smoke counters in their own hex or 1 hex away (19.0).
The relevant part regarding mortars is my emphasis.
So the "adjacent hex" restriction is only for pioneers. In fact, mortars can't fire smoke to an adjacent hex, since at least in AtB 2nd edition the minimum range of any mortar is 2.
I guess mortars can fire smoke in close combat into the close combat hex, since this is not restricted in the rules for placing smoke.