NFHS Football & Basketball
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
I read the rules and I couldn't find an answer to if you are moving ground units from one system to another system but you don't want to move ground units to that planet is it possible to leave them on the ship? If so what happens if the other player attacks you and destroys one of your ships with ground units? Are they destroyed and should you tell in advance which ship as which ground units? Thank you.
No. The rules/mechanics of this game don't have a concept of "on ship" or "on planet" - it simply matters if they are in the system.
So if you move ground units into a system, they are there, and if there are enemy ground units, you will fight.
The only exception is when you move units into a destroyed system - in that case, ground units don't fight and must have enough "transport" or are destroyed.