Glory to Rome!
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
Precision Strike (34) wrote:
Choose an opponent and look at their hand. Select one card they must discard. You may not select Precision Strike in this way unless it is their only card in hand.
The intent seems to be that you choose a card from the hand to be discarded. Regardless, can Precision Strike select the card in the Recovery Zone for their opponent to discard?
My reasoning is admittedly rules lawyerish...Precision Strike doesn't specify that the card the opponent must discard is one of the ones from their hand. If that was the intent, it should have said something like "Choose an opponent, look at their hand and select one of those cards which they must discard." Of course, you can't force them to discard a Precision Strike from their recovery zone, since it is never the only card in their hand.
Yes, it came up in a game, and I made the ruling to my own detriment.