Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
50 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Food Chain Magnate» Forums » Strategy

Subject: So you want to be a food chain magnate? Frame work for 4 player strategies. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: Strategy [+] FCM [+] [View All]
Brett M
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So as someone who has played exclusively 4 player games I wanted to look into more (and formulate more) strategies to use. After doing my research/theory crafting (based on my limited experience) I thought I might as well share my findings. I am far from an expert and need (many) more games under my belt still... but hopefully this can serve as a good starting point for others once they feel the fully understand the games ins/outs. This is not meant for someone new to the game but for someone who has gotten a solid grasp of the basics and wants to take the next step up. I will do my best to update things based on feedback here or from my future plays. Thanks all!

A couple quick things before we get into the strategies:
1) If you are a beginner reading this, then I'd start with the trainer into food strategy. Also the link below is a great supplement to this post which discusses common mistakes:
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/21469313#21469313

2) Understand this game is very dynamic and is more about how you REACT to people than your initial game plan. The strategies below are bare-bone frames that you will need to modify for each game. That is part of the strength of this game though. It is never exactly the same and a big component is the human interaction. I just want people to understand this is a guideline not set in stone strategies. They all can be modified accordingly on the fly but you need to pay attention to what people do each turn and react accordingly. That said... it is good to know what type of strategies are out there... both so you can recognize others doing them... and so you can switch gears yourself.