Gromenauer Jaaarl
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello, I think i have not posted here yet. I am new to the game, still struggling with the rules. We have played a short scenario GE-FR, and now we are going for the Historical Game, leaving optional card selection for the future...

At the moment I have two questions about retreats:

1 - When you retreat more than 1 hex, and carry with you the units that you find across the way... all of them need to end in a single hex?

This is what I seem to get from the rules. However, I have a weak hope that I understood something wrong, like if the initial stack needs to go back 2 hexes and picks up a second stack, that second stack needs to move back two hexes too, not one and overstack with the first one.

In our current game, a stack with 5 steps is forced to retreat along with one with 4 steps, obviously losing 3 steps just because. Before applying attrition.

I can understand that unit can get routed, although we are now talking about corps and armies, probably entrenched who wouldn't simply rout in real life, but having to "kill" 3 corps just for "overstacking" in this case looks insane to me. Does it work this way?

2 - There is a rule for retreats
Quote:

4.2.5.1 Retreat Priorities
The owning faction must Retreat its units into a hex that meets the following priorities, which are checked in order:

Priority 1: The hex to be Retreated into must be farther away from the defending hex than any previous hex Retreated into, and it cannot contain an EZOC.

Priority 2: If no hex exists that meets Priority 1, then the Retreat must enter a hex that is farther away from the defending hex than any previous hex Retreated into, and it must contain a friendly ground, Airdrop, or Air unit.