Hello. I just had my first (solo) session on DF and have some questions:
1. According to the game a roll is either considered a HIT or a MISS. The idea is that there is a lot of requirements for a roll to be considered a HIT and everything else is considered a MISS. There is no such thing as an INVALID roll, right? But, we also have some special abilities that are activated on both HIT and MISS, as long as the dice came up with the right symbol... So the question here is, could i, for example as a dwarf, take the RED dice (which corresponds to the Beer ability) and PLACE it on the table with the symbol upwards, without even rolling? Sure it would be considered a MISS, but i am still activating my special ability, right?
(Another thing about this special example with the Dwarf is, when you miss and activate the Beer ability on yourself, do you avoid damage for that miss or it only works for further misses?)
2. The Cleric has a Divine Intervention special, on his RED dice. On my Greek version of the game, it says "The hero you select regains in health as much damage dealt on the monster". If i am fighting a monster that only has 2 points of life left, and i roll a 6, does this means i am just healing for 2? If it's that the case, on a monster that has, let's say 20 health, and i do a whole lot of 10 damage with a 5 roll and a x2 modifier, do i heal for 10?
So is it really damage dealt (which means AFTER modifiers) or damage rolled (just plain roll without mods and independently of mob's health)?
3. There's an empty monster card and an empty equipment card... what i am supposed to do with them?
4. When i resurrect for the first time, i gain a wound and lower my health to 7, right? Can later on heal myself to 10 points, or 7 is my new MAX health?
Thanks in advance
- Last edited Tue Apr 12, 2016 4:23 pm (Total Number of Edits: 3)
- Posted Tue Apr 12, 2016 4:06 pm
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Re: Special ability activation cheat, damage rolled or damage dealt for cleric's divine intervation, empty cards
1) I think that placing the die on a specific face defies the definition of roll.
2) The English rulebook cites "damage dealt to the monster", so it is independent on how much damage the monster may take before being defeated and how many multipliers or bonuses have been used. Just look at the total output damage.
3) You can design you own monster and equipment card. Many games provide "blank" versions of tome of their component for this very purpose.
I generally agree with Painkeeper's points above.
1. Placing a die in this way would definitely go against the spirit of the game and design intent... so while it might not break any rules as written, I wouldn't allow it in my games. But then again we're pretty lenient with take-backs and such (like "it slipped out of my fingers; doesn't count!!").
1b. I think the beer token gets handed out after resolving the hit/miss, so I don't think it would protect you from damage induced by the current miss.
2. I agree that it's damage dealt after modifications, regardless of target's hit points left.
3. We invented a weapon that throws a d20 with 17 white sides, 1 red side, 1 green side and 1 blue side. It only triggers the corresponding special ability (random) on the non-white sides, but it is very easy to throw since it is less pointy than a d6 or d8, etc. We call it the "Bowling ball of doom" and it costs 3 (since it's strictly better than a one-time white die)... which is similar to some of the expansion weapons that roll new "elemental" dice.
But you can do whatever you want with them - or nothing at all, if you prefer.
4. If all heroes in the party get "knocked down", the game is over and is recorded as a loss. If the creature is defeated by remaining party members, the fallen heroes recover, you place a "scar token" over 3 hit points and one of your special abilities (your choice), and are thus down to a maximum health value of 6. You cannot heal above 6 hit points, since the scar sticks around even when healing (unless you have an ability that can remove a scar - from an expansion). If you receive a second scar, you're down to a maximum of 3 hit points (and have only 1 special ability that isn't covered up). If you were to receive a third scar (e.g. get knocked down and already have 2 scars), you flip your character sheet over and "level up" - or in other words, you don't recover and are out of the game.
- Last edited Tue Apr 12, 2016 4:46 pm (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Tue Apr 12, 2016 4:43 pm