Recommend
50 
 Thumb up
 Hide
267 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [11] | 

Millennium Blades» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brett M
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


So given all the complex interactions in this game a few of us thought it would be good to compile the common questions/answers in one list. This is my stab at it.

How does this work?

***Well first and foremost... CONTROL F is your friend in this thread... use it.... And more importantly...

***IF ASKING ABOUT A SPECIFIC CARD please list the exact card name, set, and card text to avoid confusion, make everyone's life easier. and help us answer you. There are way too many cards in this game for us to be sifting through our boxes to answer your question. Thanks!

That said... if you do not know it then this helpful spreadsheet might assist you (Thanks Asmor for putting it together!)
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22470714#22470714

***The first post/section is comprised only of CONFIRMED answers with L99 for the BASE GAME. I have broken it down into sub sections but if you have any suggestions on this setup, then please feel free to let me know.

***The second post/section is comprised of any other questions for the BASE game along with the community consensus answers. I again broke this down into sections. At some point if this gets long enough I will try to figure out how to do a table of contents... but not bothering with that now.

***The third post is reserved for the upcoming expansion

***The Fourth post is helpful links and common mistakes.

Please note: I am not going to comb through every thread for rule questions/clarifications so please feel free to post any you find here as I will keep up with anything posted on this specific thread at least. I won't update every day (especially on weekends) but I will do my best to keep up.

And with that....
____________________________________________________________


OFFICIAL RULES ERRATA


E1) Flipping the card over is the cost of playing the action but does not occur until the action/flip effect is resolved
Source 1: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22486190#22486190
Source 2: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22618694#22618694

E2) All "in play" terms should say "in tableau". This will be corrected in the next printing but for 1st edition they should be treated interchangeably.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22512904#22512904

____________________________________________________________


CONFIRMED ANSWERS



************Gameplay Questions************



________________________________________
General Setup/Mechanics:
________________________________________


G1) What Star Value do face-down cards have?
They have no Star Value and cannot gain star tokens/value through any means. Further any star tokens on a card are lost when it is flipped.
Source: Rulebook FAQ (pg 20)

G2) How do I tell how many of a card are in a set?
The highest star card in the set has only one copy while the lowest has three. Any other card in the set has two copies. In promo sets, there is just one copy of every card. Core set is an exception to the above rules and does not follow a specific system.
REMINDER: you can only have one copy of a card in your deck at any time (but can have numerous in your binder).

Source: Rulebook FAQ (pg 20)

G3) If a card references the sets of other cards, do face down cards count their set? Face down cards have no attributes (which would include set, as it is an attribute of the card), yet the card's set is clearly displayed on the back of the card.
No they do not. Attribute is defined in the rule book on page 12 under the section for Flip a card. "While face down, it has no attributes(Star Rating, Rarity, Element, Type, Set, etc) and is considered a blank card for all purposes."
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22555666#22555666 (at the time this was item #5)

G4) A face down card has no star rating. Can it count as having fewer stars than another card or is it not even considered?
No. Flipped cards are considered a blank card so it has no star rating to compare to.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876 (at the time of this post it was item #3)

G5) Do +3 star tokens count for +1 star tokens?
Yes. In fact they count as (3) +1 star tokens.
Source: Rulebook FAQ (pg 20)

G6) Do deck boxes and accessories count as being in your tableau, or do only the singles count?
No. Per page 11 of the rules the deck box area and your accessories are not in the tableau
Source: Rulebook (pg 11)

G7) Are the 3 types of promo different rarities?
Yes based on the rarity chart provided on pg 7 of the rulebook. The term promo refers to all 3 types/rarities to keep text concise.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876 (at the time of this post it was item #2)

G8) On pg 4 of the rules it says you can add your "backer card" to your deck at the start of the game. What is this?
Backer cards are found in some of the promo sets (Backer Meets World, Backers in Charge, The Backer Bunch, & Leave it to Backers). Each card in those set were sponsored by one backer during the KS (it was a higher pledge tier). If you sponsored one of these cards, then you can start with it at the beginning of the game. Note this is NOT the autographed cards that went to all KS backers. That is just a signed prototype card, added as a bonus for Kickstarters (just for fun).
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876 (at the time of this post it was item #14)

G9) What do the symbols on the backs of the card represent?
They represent what type/element of cards are in the set so you can better choose a pack for purchase (especially when going for collections etc). One important thing to note (courtesy of JoshmanVGH) is the icons are organized from top to bottom to match up with the rarity spread in the set. So the top most symbol will have 3 instances in the set (for the most common card), the middle 3 icons will happen twice, and the bottom one only happens once (for the rarest card in the set).

It is also important to note (courtesy of Khift) that the absolute middle card has the same star value as the cost, and each card is one star value higher than the card above it. And each set has two deck boxes with star value 1 less than the cost.

So Samurai Mowdown for example, with cost of 4, has the following:

3x 2* Animal-Dark
2x 3* Machine-Light
2x 4* Myth-Water
2x 5* Civilian-Air
1x 6* Soldier-Fire
2x 3* Deckbox
For an average money value of 3.5 dollars (0.5 less than the cost)

The ratio of cost to expected values is similar for all non core sets. Core sets do even better per question G10 below. So if you have sell tokens left it is rarely a losing proposition to buy cards

Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424107#22424107

G10) What is the average value of cards in booster sets?
On average it is about 0.5 bucks less than the set for any non core set packs. See example in question G9 above. For the core set the expected value is actually about 0.5 bucks higher than the cost!
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22432565#22432565
Thanks Khift!

G11) What is card XXX based off of?
Refer to this page:
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22740503#22740503


________________________________________
Deck-building Phase:
________________________________________

D1) What happens if the Store runs out of cards?
Shuffle the Store Discard to form a new Store Deck. Any promo cards that come up in the store can be bought for cash instead of via fusion.
Source: Rulebook FAQ (pg 20)

D2) What happens if you run out of cards in the store deck AND the discard deck? (can happen with lots of card fusion etc)
You shuffle any removed from the game cards (from card fusion and collections) to form a new store deck. As an alternate, you can play with 2 extra sets of each type (Expansion, Premium, Master) to prevent the store deck from running out so easily.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22426558#22426558
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22428517#22428517

D3) What happens if the Aftermarket spaces are filled during the Deck-building phase?
The Aftermarket has no space limit during the Deck-building Phase, only during the Tournament Phase (per pg 13 of rules)
Source: Rulebook pg 13 and also on pg 20 (in the FAQ)

D4) What is a turn in the deck building phase (for Shur Wen Na's power)?
It is each 20 minute deck building phase. So you may use her power 3 times per game total
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22333570#22333570

D5) What do aftermarket cards do during the tournament phase? Do you clear the Aftermarket after the tournament phase as well?
The aftermarket is cleared ONLY at the end of each deck-building phase (not at the end of the tournament phase). So it should be empty at the start of a tournament and cards are typically only added to the aftermarket (during the tournament phase) by clashes. They have no specific purpose for the tournament phase (although they can be bought in the next deck-building phase) EXCEPT for a few select cards that interact with them. For example a card might say "Choose a card from the aftermarket and get RP equal to 3 time its star rating." So you would not want to play that card until a clash has happened so there is something in the aftermarket to choose for the ability.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876 (at the time of this post it was item #15)

D6) The rules do dictate that trades much be "equal value trades" (pg. 9). But can trades be just a card for an equal amount of money even if the player is out of sell markers? The other question is can players trade multiple cards of a single card and vise versa?
Yes and Yes. The only stipulation is the star ratings of both ends must align... and while trading money is a 1:1 substitute for star rating. (Note this is assuming you are not using the free market mode variant... in which case you can do whatever you like)
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22555666#22555666 (at the time this was item 7)


________________________________________
Tournament Play:
________________________________________

P1) Can a copy effect (Like Yellow Egg's) be copied? Can a copy effect copy a face down card?
Copy effects can never be copied. The card in question will usually indicate this. A copy effect that would target a face-down card does nothing, and the card remains in its original state
Source: Rulebook FAQ (pg 20)

P2) The rulebook FAQ covers what happens if you try to copy a facedown card. What about if it is already copying a card and that card is flipped? Does the copy retain the copied values?
All current cards that copy an entire card do it via an ongoing effect (such as Blue Egg, Birth of Water from Bluelake Village Starter Set). Since it is ongoing as soon as the card is flipped the Egg reverts to just being an egg (and not copying anything). If somehow cards in the tableau are moved then the egg could potentially copy something else down the line... but if cards remain as is then it remains itself (not copying anything)
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373 (at the time of this post it was item #9)

P3) What happens when a copy card is repositioned in the tableau? (Card effect or a 'scurry' play) Does the copy retain the original copy, or does it update to the card now on its left?
Since all current cards that copy an entire card do it via the ongoing effect, it would change into the new card to its immediate left as soon as the tableau is reorganized
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373 (at the time of this post it was item #10)

P4) If I am required to flip a card of my choice, can I choose a card that cannot be flipped?
No. A card that cannot be flipped is not a legal target for a flip effect.
Source: Rulebook FAQ (pg 20)

P5) If I gain an extra slot in my tableau (example: Shur Wen Na), where is it?
Any extra tableau slots are always at the rightmost side (top) of your tableau unless otherwise stated on the card.
Source: Rulebook FAQ (pg 20)

P6) Do cards with scurry enter the tableau at the TOP position and then move? Or do you directly place them anywhere you like?
They enter play directly where you like. They are not moved
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373 (at the time of this post it was item #8)

P7) What happens if I have multiple reaction effects trigger at the same time?
You resolve all reaction effects you control in any order you wish. If an opponent has an effect that triggers at the same time yours does, the player whose turn it is has priority, followed by the other players with effects in turn order.
Source: Rulebook FAQ (pg 20)

P8) Does a flipped card still count as a card in the tableau? For example for cards such as Columbina?
Yes. It is still a card. Just one with no attributes.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876 (at the time of this post it was item #4)

P9) Does a card with Blast Off Action AND a Flip ability trigger its own flip ability when you do the blast off action?
Yes. Flip is triggered whenever the card is flipped... regardless of how. So actions trigger their own flips.

If it said, "if they do so, gain RP", then yes, they would need to flip cards for you to gain the RP, but the "and" implies to trigger a flip effect on other players, and then you separately gain RP, regardless if they have a different ability to prevent your flip effect.


Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876 (at the time of this post it was item #6)

P10) Does discarding only mean from hand or also from tableau? For example with Burnizard EX Omega Revolver J from the core set?
Discarding is always from hand unless otherwise indicated.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876 (at the time of this post it was item #10)

P11) Does the loser of a clash flip the card that lost? If 'yes', can the flip be prevented with something like deck protectors?
No unless the card causing the clash says so in its text. Clash effects will indicate what happens to winners/losers, the win/loss effect is not always flipping a card. If your card would be flipped due to the result of a clash, this can be prevented with flip prevention effects like Deck Protectors but the winner still gains any other resulting effect of the clash (usually RP).
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876 (at the time of this post it was item #7)

P12) If a card has an action that initiates a clash (card B) is it used for the clash or is it flipped first so the card to it's left (card A) does the clash?
The action must resolve completely before flipping. In this case, since B is your top card it will be the card that clashes.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373 (at the time of this post it was item #3)

P13) When you initiate clash are you required to flip a card even if you win?
This is entirely dependent on the card and they all pretty much say if you do or not. The only time they do not is if as an action you initiate a clash (in which case your card flips regardless as you used the action)

So here are 3 examples:

Cloud Boss, Boss of a Cloud from the Core set. You can use its action to clash (which means cloud boss is flipped regardless of the outcome since his action was used)... the winner gains 10 RP and that's it. So if the person who did not control cloud boss in the clash loses... his card does not flip... but regardless of the outcome... Cloud Boss DOES flip (since you used his action).

Harvey Potmaker from Cards Magica. He causes a clash on play. The winner gains 15 RP... the owner of Harvey also gets the secondary non clash part of his ability... and neither card is flipped since the card did not say to... and no action was used.

Mr.Seagull from Fists of Steel. He causes a clash as an action... so no matter what he flips. In addition his card says the winner may flip a card of the loser. So if the owner of Mr.Seagull loses the clash... TWO of his cards are flipped (Seagull and a card of the opponents choice). If the owner of Seagull wins the clash then seagull is still flipped and they get to flip a card of their choice from the opponents deck.

Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876 (at the time of this post it was item #11)

P14) If you have two cards that are tied for highest Star Value, and an effect is applied to your highest valued card, do you just choose one card or are both affected? If you choose, can you choose a card that is immune to the effect, since it technically qualifies as the highest value card?
You choose. However you MUST choose a legal target so if neither are legal then nothing happens... and if only one is legal you MUST choose the one legal option.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876 (at the time of this post it was item #13)

P15) In a 2-player game, is your opponent both "the player to your left" and "the player to your right"?
Yes. The opponent is counted for both parts of the effect as they are the player to the left and right of you.
source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22512881#22512881

P16) What exactly does "in play" mean? Does it include your deckbox and accessories? For example every card in the Frame Wars: Pilots set includes the phrase "If you have a construct in play"
Refer to Errata item E2. In play is interchangeable with in your tableau. So no it does not count accessories and deck boxes
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22512904#22512904

P17) Do +X tokens go away when a card is flipped?
Yes
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22555666#22555666 (at the time this was item 8)

P18) How do attached cards function?
Attached cards are not considered in the tableau for effects. If a card that has an attachment becomes flipped, the attached card is put back in your binder.
Source: Rulebook FAQ (pg 20)

P19) When a card is attached to another card, can you use its action to reattach it to something else? For example, Cthonic Card Altar: "Action: Attach this to a card in your tableau. It has +4 stars and can't be flipped by opponents' effects."
No. The action on the attachment isn't intended to be usable again once it's already attached as it is no longer on the tableau similar to the answer to the second to last question on pg 20 of the rulebook
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22555666#22555666 (at the time this was item 9)

P20) Is there a ruling on what effects on Attached can be used. A lot of cards that attach to cards have Score effects, so what about cards that get attached like with John Lemon? If I attach a card with a score effect to him or an action can these be used?
this is covered by the second to last question on the rulebook FAQ. The card is not in your tableau so you can't use any of its actions or effects. It's very important which card is the attached card vs the card in your tableau though so read cards carefully.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373 (at the time of this post it was item #14)

P21) The Blast Off Action in the rulebook states you may put (3) +1 Star Tokens on the next card you play. The Blast Off Action on the cards however says put (3) +1 Star Tokens on a card in your tableau. which is correct?
The card text is accurate
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22555666#22555666 (at the time this was item 11)

P22) On pg 12 of the rulebook the Reaction ability states "When you activate a Reaction, the card that triggers it is flipped face-down." Does this mean the card that has the reaction ability on it? Or the card that you are using the reaction in response to?
It is referring to the card with the reaction written on it. They are trying to clarify that reactions aren't usually automatic. You choose to use them, so it's not really your opponent's card that's causing that reaction but your card. It could be worded better but that is the intent.

Reactions would be very over powered if they did not flip after use and instead flipped other cards.

Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22555666#22555666 (at the time this was item 12)

P23) How do TOP effects resolve? Do they trigger when a card is played to the right of the top card? For example, if I have burnizard as my top card and on my next turn I play a 6 star card does burnizard flip my new card?
It depends on the card. In general TOP effects do not effect the next card you play unless they interact with them before they enter play. So Evil Doctor PSI would cause you to play a random card (since he effects things before you play a card) and The Gladiator would make you play any 5 star or lower cards face down. Burnizard on the other hand (and most TOP effects for that matter) would not effect your own card since his effect would be negated as soon as you play the card and thus the card is not impacted.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22604347#22604347

P24) What does end of tournament refer to with regards to cards like Shadow realm ticket and mutant abberation?
[i]The rulebook (on pg 13) lists End of Tournament as when all singles are played so these effects trigger before score effects

Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373 (at the time of this post it was item #15)

________________________________________
Scoring:
________________________________________


S1) If a card makes me lose RP and I don't have enough to lose, what happens?
You lose as much as you can and stop at zero. You cannot go negative. Effects that trigger based on losing a specific amount of RP still happen even if no RP is lost.
Source: Rulebook FAQ (pg 20)

S2) If a card forces other players to flip a card and says you gain RP, what happens if your opponents prevent the card from being flipped, or their are no eligible targets, do you still get the RP points?
In this case the important operative word is "and". As long as the statements aren't mutually exclusive (ex. "Flip a card. If you did gain RP) you will gain the RP even if the card isn't flipped. Check the wording on any given card for whether or not this is the case.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876 (at the time of this post it was item #5)


************Specific Card Questions:************


Player Cards:

***Cardinal Baanz***
-------Can he ban friendship cards?
No. Baanz's ability names a card. As friendship cards do not have names, Baanz's ability cannot select them.
Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/25901112#25901112

***Cardine Kolleckta***
-------Can her protection ability move from card to card (assuming the owner uses an action each time)? Other hero powers can be reused like Morrey Cardman, Fulton Suitcase. Deques Aplenti specifically says once a tournament. Yet this is the only one that actually uses the "Action:" templating... AND it becomes attached (which means it is in play).
No. She can only be used once per tournament to protect a single card
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373

***Deques Aplenti***
1)------His card says he scored for both deck boxes but I thought you could only have one deck box?
His deck-building power is he can include 2 deck boxes and 3 accessories.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876
2)------Why does his ability specify accessories in your tableau? Per page 11 of the rules the tableau is only the singles
This is believed to be a late change in the game design and thus an error on this card. It should just be an accessory on your tournament area/player area
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22455472#22455472

***Friendly Alien Lettstrade***
-------Can you play two friendship cards in one deck?
Yes. Friendship cards do not have names, so Lettstrade can include as many as she likes in her deck (up to the normal limit of 8 cards in your deck).
Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/25901112#25901112

***Fulton Suitcase***
-------Can his tournament power be used once per turn in place of the one action you can do a turn? In other words he won't ever flip and can be used as often as you like (as long as you don't take another action on the same turn).
Correct. Player cards never flip and it would say once a tournament (like Deques Aplenti) if you could not re-use his power.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876

***Morrey Caardmaan***
-------Can his tournament ability be used multiple times in the same tournament?
Yes it can as character cards cannot be flipped (unlike other cards). Their tournament Action abilities (Fulton, Morrey) can be used as many times as you want per tournament unless they say otherwise (Deques, Cardine) but they take up your one action for the turn.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22555666#22555666

***Shu Wen Na***
-------What is a turn in the deck building phase?
It is each 20 minute deck building phase. So you may use her power 3 times per game total
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22333570#22333570
This was also a Set Rotation Errata'd Card

Other Cards

***Apprentice Bianca*** Grimoire Shuffle
-------Does Bianca only work on your own tableau or can she steal from others tableau/cards?
She can steal from other players cards/tableau.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22287878#22287878

***Brook Lam*** Lightning Bug
-------This card says "Play: Flip any number of accessories in your tableau to gain 8 RP for each accessory flipped this way" but accessories cannot be in your tableau per pg 11 of the rules
This is an error and the card should just read "Play: Flip any number of accessories in your player/tournament area to gain 8 RP for each accessory flipped this way"
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22455472#22455472
This was also a Set Rotation Errata'd Card

***Captain Airlock*** Galactic Caboose
-------1)If the next card you play has a "play" clash effect, then do the tokens from captain airlock get put on before or after the clash?
The priority of effects in the rules are "Top>Ongoing>Play>Next>Score". That said Brad later clarified it should read "Top > Ongoing > Play/Next > Score" so you can pick the order. If you want the tokens first you would choose to do the Next effect first and then the Play (Clash) effect, If you elect to Clash first and loose, then the next effect does not trigger if the card is now flipped.
Source: I'm taking this as confirmation: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/25749646#25749646

***Cap'n Tightpants*** Lightning Bug
-------Can Cap'n Tightpants target himself making a quasi-infinite loop?
No. Refer to the first general errata (E1). For this specific card you gain 3 additional actions but they cannot target himself.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22486190#22486190
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22618694#22618694
This was also a Set Rotation Errata'd Card

***Card Handling Gloves*** Core Set
-------Can this clash be used to flip an opponent’s deckbox or accessory? Most similar cards state tableau only
No it cannot. Per pg Page 11 of the Rulebook... things don't affect Deck Boxes or Accessories unless they specifically state that they do. While this card does say card, not single (single is defined as a card in the tableau), it is still felt that this is not specifically saying it can effect deck boxes or accessories.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373

***Card Modification Marker*** Core Set
-------It says you can have two of the same card in your deck/Tableau. If this becomes flipped, does your deck instantly become illegal?
No. Deck legality is only checked at the start of the tournament
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22555666#22555666

***Columbina*** Commedia Dell Arte
-------Does a flipped card still count as a card in the tableau?
Yes. It is still a card. Just one with no attributes.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876

***Doubleshark, Twice the Shark*** Core Set
-------If you're playing a 2 player game, what do you do with the second "play" effect?
In a 2 player game there is no legal target for the 2nd play ability... so it cannot be done.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22555666#22555666

***Dr. Balance*** Core Set
-------1)While he is on top, if any card gets flipped, then that card's owner gets to pick someone else to flip a card. How does this chain end?
Either through some accessory (deck protectors), all legal targets being flipped, or Dr.Boom being flipped himself
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876
-------2)What happens if Dr.Balance is protected from flipping by a card like Commemorative Resin Statue and an opponent selects you to flip a card. Is Dr.Balance still protected?
Dr.Balance is protected. Dr. Balance adds the ability to the card, but that card is still the source of the ability. So "Prevent an opponent's effect" type things still work against it, no matter who you are, and will stop the chain
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22512375#22512375

***Dr. Jackal and Mr.Fez Leave it to Backers
If you use its action and only draw deckboxes and accessories, then are they all just discarded to the aftermarket and you have a new empty spot in your tableau?
Yes. You can only play singles in your tableau so you have no legal options for this card's ability. A clearer wording for this ability would be "Action: Return this card to your Binder, then reveal the top 3 cards of the Store and play a single from them. Discard the rest to the Aftermarket"
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373

***Duelist Fashion Ring*** Core Set
-------If the card is flipped when someone else plays it do you still get the bonus?
Yes as it is still in your accessory slot.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876

***The Egg cards*** Core Set and Starter Decks
-------1) Does the egg still have it's own type as well? (This is relevant for the air starter card that counts different types)
It loses it own type and becomes an exact copy of the card to its left.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22555666#22555666 (was item #1 for this card)
-------2)What does it mean by 'This effect cannot be copied.' For example, Maximimilan, Mathematician in the blue starter copies Score effects. Can he copy the score effect that an egg has copied because he's not actually copying the ongoing effect itself? Or should the egg be read as 'Nothing on this card can be copied'?

PLEASE NOTE: there are two trains of thought on this question. L99 has at one point endorsed both approaches and has said you can use either... so I am leaving both here and players may choose which they prefer. For more detailed explanation of the two approaches see here
(https://boardgamegeek.com/article/27825761#27825761)

The original blessed interpretation is below:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The intent is you cannot copy the copy effect. The egg is now an exact copy so you could copy the abilities from the original card the egg copied... not the eggs copy ability. To clarify. If this was your tabluea (of 4 cards):

{A} <= {B} <= {Eggs} <= {C}

<> Eggs is the exact copy of B (which mean we got 2 B cards here).
<> Eggs can not copy A because it is not in the immediate left even if B is flipped face down.
<> C can copy the effect of B (if C has copy ability).
<> C cannot copy the effect of Eggs (the ability to copy).
<> Note if B is flipped face down, then the Eggs reverts to being just the Egg card. C can remain a copy of it the original card as long as its copy effect was not ongoing and was done at a time when B was not flipped down.

Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373 (was item #1 for this card)


The newer approach is:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The egg becomes a copy of the original card it is copying but has the added text that it cannot be copied. So you cannot copy it an additional time to get a 3rd copy
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/27814283#27814283


-------3)When it says "play effects CAN be used" does that mean you can elect not to?
[i]This is believed to be poor wording and that the intent is for the egg card to be an exact copy of the card to it's immediate left. So when you PLAY the egg card... it would copy any play effects of the card to it's immediate left. This is not an option but a requirement. If on the other hand you somehow switch the position of the egg (or the card it's copying) so it is copying something new... then you do not trigger the play effect as it was already in play.

Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373 (was item #2 for this card)


***Evil Deck in a Jar*** Cards from the Crypt
------- Can you name the card you are playing and just always score 8 RP?
No because of the priority of keywords given on pg 12 of the rules. Ongoing effects trigger before the Play effect. So it will only work on the card you would play the following turn which in turn lets your opponents know what you are going to do (or you could be bluffing!)
Source: Rulebook pg 12

***Flippable Table*** Core Set
-------1) Does the owner of Flippable Table choose which of the two options happen to target player(s)? Or does each player get to choose which happens separately?
Each player (who has higher RP than the owner) gets to pick which option they want to do (either losing 20 RP or flipping two cards)
-------2)Can you use deck protectors to protect one card, flip one card, and not lose 20 RP? Or do you still lose the RP because you in the end did not flip two cards? Similarly, if I do not have 20 RP do I have to choose to flip two?
You choose to either flip two cards OR lose 20 RP. If you do not have enough RP you may still choose to lose 20 RP and will just end up with 0 RP (per the rules you cannot go negative). If you choose to flip two, then you may choose to flip two and then protect one (or both) with effects like deck protectors and not lose the 20 RP
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/23272856#23272856
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/23289899#23289899

***Gladiator*** Neuroshima Hex
-------1)Is the 5 star or lower card face up at any point? So if my card has a TOP effect will it still trigger since the triggers would happen at the same time? Or if it has a flip effect will that trigger?
-------2)Will this cause my next card to enter play flipped if it is 5 star or lower?
1)No the card is never face up. It enters play face down so neither TOP or Flip effects will trigger
2)Yes. Gladiator's trigger makes you play it face down. So it is never face up to negate the Gladiators Top effect (note this is a typical from how most TOP abilities work. Most stop being in effect the moment your next card and do not effect it)

Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22604347#22604347

***Jeeves Stackson*** TCG Illuminati (master set 4)
PLEASE NOTE THIS IS NOT THE BASE GAME CARD. yes there are two with the same name....

-------When playing a 2 player game can the effect be applied two times on the same player? Meaning that the only opponent is both on the left and right of the player that is playing Jeeves
Yes
Source: Answer to P15 above which in turn references:
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22512881#22512881

***John Lemon*** Symphony of Destruction
-------Does John Lemon prevent flipping for costs of Actions as well?
As written he would prevent it as you can't flip them so you can't use their actions. That said this has been confirmed a mistake. The card should read "can't be flipped by other players' effects".
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22401912#22401912
This was also a Set Rotation Errata'd Card

***Kamen, the Masked Priest*** The Saints of Whiteholme
-------1)When you pass because you have filled up your tableau or ran out of cards, is that still a turn? Does Kamen keep flipping cards?
No. When you pass that takes your entire turn away. It's as if you did not have a turn. Only triggers that are always on (specifically Top and Ongoing effects) from your board will continue to work during the other players turns.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25717216#25717216
-------2)How does this card function? After the first turn the leftmost card is already flipped. Does it operate like TOP only for the leftmost card?
This is a typo from the first edition and was corrected in set rotation. The card should read "Ongoing: At the end of each of your turns, flip your left-most FACE UP card and gain 5 RP."
Source: Set Rotation Errata'd Card

***Mara, the apprentice thief*** Brownall City
-------When playing a 2 player game can the effect be applied three times on the same player? Meaning that the only opponent is both on the left and right of the player that is playing Mara
Yes
Source: Answer to P15 above which in turn references:
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22512881#22512881

***Mutant Aberration*** AD-2400
-------Does its static ability to gain 50 RP happen before score effects happen?
This is a typo from the first edition and was corrected in Set Rotation. It happens at the end of tournament but before scoring as shown on pg 13 of the rules.
Source: Set Rotation Errata'd Card

***Official Branded Hoodie*** Core set
-------If player X uses an action that targets ALL players, can Player Y use the hoodie to redirect the targeting of themselves to another player?
No. If the effect requires you to Choose a Player or Card in play (including Deck Boxes or Accessories), then it can be redirected with the hoodie. If it affects everything within a class (All players, All opponents, cards with a particular Name), then it cannot be redirected.
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373

***Parker, Big Game Hunter*** Core Set
-------Do you count face down/flipped cards?
No. Flipped cards are considered a blank card so it has no star rating to compare to
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22424876#22424876

***Personal Issues*** Xeno X-Over
-------This card has you reveal a card from your hand at random when you clash rather than the store deck. Normally cards revealed for a clash are moved to the aftermarket. Does this still apply with this card and you effectively lose the card from your hand?
On pg 12 the description for Reveal a Card from your hand says "The card is shown from your hand to all players, then returned to your hand." This is the intent for this card. Putting the store card in the aftermarket after a clash seems to be more an instruction on what to do with a typical clash than it is a definition of the "Clash" mechanic and is why on pg 12 (under the clash mechanic) it says "Put all cards revealed this way (aka from the store deck) into the Aftermarket."
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373

***Shadow Realm Ticket*** Core Set
-------If I use this on a card, does it remove itself and the attached card from the game before metagame scoring is checked?
Yup. Per pg 13 of the rules the meta scoring doesn't happen until after the tournament so this would remove them both before that happens
Source: pg 13 of the Rulebook

***Super Effective Secret Weapon*** M.N.M.
-------How does it's score effect work? Is it considered a copy?
Yes. This should be considered a copy effect that itself cannot be copied again. A clearer wording would be "Score: Copy a score effect of a face-up card in your tableau (max. 40 RP). (This effect can't be copied)."
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22401912#22401912
This was also a Set Rotation Errata'd Card

***Vectis, Necomancer*** Core Set and Chateau Helbane
-------What does it mean by all cards to the immediate left? Immediate left typically only means the one card to it's left yet this one also says all?
This is a typo from the first edition only and was only on the Chateau Helbane version (not the core card). It was corrected with set rotation expansion (corrected cards included in it). The core set version (NOT the chateau helbane version) is the correct wording for the card
Source: Set Rotation Errata'd Card

***Winfriede Shuster*** Frame Wars
-------This card says "Play: If you have a construct in play, your other cards cannot be flipped by opponent's effects". How does this ability work? Is it still in effect if she is flipped?
This is an error on the card. It should be an ongoing effect (not a play effect). So it would not protect things once flipped... but it will be in effect anytime it is face up and you have another construct on your tableau (even if the construct is played after this card)
Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22455481#22455481

____________________________________________________________
Change Log:
Any major changes will be shown here. I won't list every time I add a question/answer... and many edits will just be minor grammar/formatting fixes.

04/18/16: Added a lot of questions from this past weekend (and from additional answers from L99). Broke the questions down into 4 subsections to assist in finding info.
05/02/16: Added a lot of questions and re-ordered numbering on some slightly to better group answers on similar topics. Will be doing some more of this re-ordering in the future.
06/20/16: Added confirmations from Ithry and reorganized the order of some questions to better group similar topics
05/02/17: Updated for Set Rotation Errata'd Cards and Brad confirmation on Next/Play effects
01/10/18: Updated the answer on the Eggs cards

  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett M
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

COMMUNITY CONSENSUS ANSWERS

AKA Not confirmed by Level 99 Games yet



____________General Questions____________


1) Where the heck do I even begin when deck building? There are so many cards/options!
See the 4th post of this thread. And don't stress too much. You will definitely make mistakes but that is all part of the fun :- )
That 4th post even includes feedback straight from L99!


2) Can I have more than one specific Legendary Accessory? Especially as it relates to Deques Aplenti.
Yes. The only limitation in the rules is you can't have more than one of the same card in your deck.

3) Do face down cards stop a card from being the Leftmost?
Unless the card says leftmost face up card then it does not as it is still a card (even if it has no properties and is essentially blank). Note this is not true for TOP though as it specifically is defined as the most right face up card

4) Pg 12 of the rules indicates the order of precedence for simultaneous effects is: Top > Ongoing > Play > Next > Score

Where do Flip and Reaction fit into this order? Or do they essentially fall into each of the above as an interrupt?

Reaction and flip effects occur immediately once triggered. So if they are in response to a TOP effects then they will happen after the top effect but before any ongoing effects. That said take note Brad later clarified the order should be Top > Ongoing > Play/Next > Score
Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/25749646#25749646

5) The rules give the priority of how effects resolve. But how do they affect each other? Do Play effects resolve if a TOP effect flips the card first?
Here is a rough breakdown of how playing a card resolves with all the various abilities.

PLAYING A CARD BREAKDOWN wrote:

a.) Pick the card you want to play.

b.) Play card (it is now "coming into play").

Note: Your TOP effects (from other cards played previously) only effect a card up to this point. Most effects thus will not trigger as they would occur in the next step. Exceptions are cards that force you to play a random card (effecting step 1) or cards that effect how a card comes into play (such as Gladiator making it be face down) which effects this step.

c) Resolve relevant TOP effects of opponents cards (not your previously played one as the rare exceptions to this would occur prior to this). You also resolve any TOP effects for the card you just played where applicable (uncommon). For example if you played Dr.Balance and somehow a card was flipped due to other TOP effects then it would now have Dr.Balances ability.

d) Resolve relevant ONGOING effects of all cards, including your own. If numerous trigger, then per the rules yours will trigger first followed by the other players in player turn order

e) Resolve PLAY or NEXT effects (in the order you choose) of any cards on your tableau that are still face-up. Card is considered "in play" for the purposes of these effects.

Note: This one has a little contention with people. Some say as long as it was face up when played... even if it is flipped by TOP or ONGOING effects then the trigger still was met and happens. Refer to James Bomb in the card specific section.

f) Note Score effects won't happen until end of tournamnet so they should not apply here on the typical turn


So for the specific example of Burnizard... No. As soon as you play a card the previous TOP effect is gone. There is never any crossover except in rare exceptions like Gladiator (from Neuroshima Hex) and Evil General Psi
[/b]
Partial Confirmations: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22604347#22604347
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/25749646#25749646

6) Do TOP effects persist through scoring if they are the last card you played? For example "The Freezer"?
While not explicitly called out in the rules, there's a lot to support the idea that non-Score effects do not occur during the Score phase unless they're specifically called out (such as the Egg series, which specify that the Copy effect continues into the Score phase). So, even if you managed to keep the card face up (such as with John Lemon's effect), the RP switch would not continue into the Score phase anyways.

7) Do copy effects that copy a card exactly (e.g. Egg) also copy star tokens on that card? Further what happens if a card copies a card that is a copy?
Yes you copy the star token values as well. It becomes an exact copy in all ways. If you somehow then copied the copy... it becomes a third copy of the one card. It does not copy the 2nd played card (in this example the Egg)

8) Can a player 'select' another player who has no legal targets? For example Dr.Balanced simply says 'choose a player'. It does not say 'choose a player who has a card they can flip'.
Yes you may (and in some cases it is smart to). They simply would not have to flip a card since they have no legal targets.

9) How do you handle a card like Florian (Play: Flip any number of cards in your tableau) with regards to resolving effects? Do all card flip at once and then you determine the order of things (based on the FAQ response for multiple reactions?) or do you flip each card individually and follow all reactions etc all the way through before then flipping a second card with Florian? This can have complex interactions with other cards (like Dr.Balance in this thread: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1564416/doctor-balance-and-...)
You fully resolve all effects from flipping the first card before moving on to the second

10) Scurry states that you may insert this card anywhere into your tableau. Does this mean you can play a card all the way in the right most spot? Or can it only be in the leftmost open spot OR any currently occupied slot (which then shifts cards to the right)?
The later. You can not use scurry to create gaps in your tableau.


____________Specific Card Questions:____________




Player Cards:

***Power Creep***
-------Power Creep's Tournament power gives you 4 RP when you play a card that matches at least one of the metas. This ability has no keyword in front of it ("Ongoing:", for instance). I currently have 0 RP and play a card with "Play: lose X RP". Do I lose the points (net no change, since I have no points to lose) from the play effect and then gain Power Creep's 4 points? Or do I gain the 4 points and then immediately lose them to the play effect?
I would argue it is an ongoing effect. In which case Ongoing effects trigger before Play so you would gain and then immediately lose the points. (priority of abilities is shown on pg 12 of rules)


Other Cards:

***Assorted Small Keys*** The Legend of TanananaH
-------Do face down cards count as singles?
Yes they do. This card could just as easily say if your tableau has fewer than 6 cards (which can only be accomplished by discarding a lot of cards)

***Captain Airlock*** Galactic Caboose
-------If Captain Airlock Is flipped after being played but before you play your next card, then does it still get the tokens?
No. This is similar to a top effect in that it only works if Captain Airlock is still face up.

***Card Modification Marker*** Core Set
If this is flipped can you still play now illegal cards?
The consensus is yes since they are in your deck already but this fringe case has no basis in the rules. Hopefully Brad/Ithry can confirm

***Dark Grimoire of Pure Evil Cards Magica
If this is not the Top card in the tableau and you use it's action, do the other cards slide down in your tableau when it's removed or do you just leave an empty slot?
You leave the empty slot as is. Then the next card you play (which may be the top card of the store deck you gain as part of this cards action) must be played in that gap.

***The Freezer*** Power Play
-------Does this TOP effect persist through scoring if it is still the TOP card at the end of the tournament?
While not explicitly called out in the rules, there's a lot to support the idea that TOP effects do not occur during the Score phase unless they're specifically called out. So, even if you managed to keep the card face up (such as with John Lemon's effect), the RP switch would not continue into the Score phase.

***Inept Robotic Assistant Cascade*** M.N.M
-------Does it's effect continue through scoring?
Yes it does. In general effects continue unless they specifically say otherwise (or the card causing the effect is flipped). This likely could be clarified better though as the answer appears to be inconsistent (refer to the freezer answer above)

***James Bomb*** 006
-------The rules say "Top>Ongoing>Play>Next>Score" is the order of what effects take priority over other effects. So am I correct in assuming that he flips the card without its play action being done?
No... the play effect will happen. Play effects go off as a result of a card being played. While a Top or Ongoing effect might happen first they don't negate the trigger. The priority order listed in the rules determines the order in which the effects resolve (for players of MTG this is similar to the concept of the stack) but they still all resolve unless the cards say otherwise.

From Page 12 of the rules: "Play - Play effects are activated right away when a card comes into play. Perform the Play Effect on the card when you play if from your hand. Cards with Play effects are considered "in play" for the purposes of effects when their effect is resolving."


***RANT energy drink*** Core Set
-------Do you have to use the reaction before drawing from the store deck to do the clash or can you use it after comparing the clash's totals with the other player?
You can use it anytime during the clash (so pretty much you'll use it after revealing cards if the +2 would make you win)

***Shadow Realm Ticket*** Core Set
-------If I put this on an opponents card, am I the only one who can flip it?
Yes. You could argue a reaction to something you performed would be legal since you initiated the reaction trigger... but otherwise they can not flip it

***Sizorukatana, the Manslayer*** Samurai Mowdown
-------The rules say that if multiple players reveal the same high score, then the clash is a tie. Does this mean there are no losers for the clash if two players are tied even if the other players are lower than them?
The two who have the highest score tie so they do not gain the RP but they also don't flip a card. The other people in the clash with lower scores lose the clash and flip a card.

***Tactician*** Sellswords
-------This card lists Promo as a single rarity. Yet the rulebook (pg 7) lists it as 3 different rarities and FAQ question G7 agrees with this and says when they use Promo it is just saving space. So does this card score for each of the 3 different promo rarities?
Yes

***Walsh*** Lightning Bug
-------When I copy an action with him, do I immediately do the action, or do I have to use him as my action for a turn as well?
Play effects are not considered your action. You must do it immediately but you may still do another action for your turn. This would not flip Walsh either since it is a play ability... even if you are copying an "action"

____________________________________________________________
Change Log:
Any major changes will be shown here. I won't list every time I add a question/answer... and many edits will just be minor grammar/formatting fixes.
14 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett M
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

PLACEHOLDER


Originally this was for the set rotation expansion... but I think that makes this harder to use... so instead this is a placeholder for when the main post becomes too long.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett M
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Helpful Links!


Spreadsheet of all Current Cards
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22470714#22470714

List of Current Card References/Source Material
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22740503#22740503

Reminders for Beginners: (commonly missed rules etc)
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22466886#22466886

Building your Store Deck: Analysis of Each Set in Base Game
original (more descriptive): https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22786193#22786193
graph/table: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22792027#22792027

Fan-made Sets
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1587714/fan-made-millennium...

Common Mistakes Thanks Ferdinand for the list! :- )

The Top 5 Mistakes Beginners Make in Millennium Bales
1. Collections – Many forget to make collections for points and/or don’t realize how important they are.
2. Aftermarket & Store clean up – Forgetting to discard in cards in the aftermarket and store after deckbuilding.
3. Promo Tournament Prizes - Forgetting to give out prizes after tournaments.
4. Deckbuilding/Promo Fusions - Doing too many fusions which results in having less cards to build a good deck and/or collections. Promos are powerful but also come at a high cost and may or may not fit your deck style.
5. Second pack of free cards - Forgetting to give out a second set of cards of the second phase in deckbuilding.

Others:
Forgetting to use a sell marker when you fuse a card.
Forgetting to flip a card (not player cards though) when using an action
Forgetting about metas during deck building and/or during scoring

Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1562079/millennium-blades-v...


An intro to deck building

While far from a definitive guide here is a short description of how to begin building your first deck in the first deckbuilding phase

1) Use the first 7 minutes to get a bunch of cards and then evaluate them. Personally I try and grab as many core set cards as possible I often times will throw out all my $30 immediately and end up with a stack of cards. My friends already dubbed it the Brett strategy and many have started doing it too. Why the core set? The average star rating for the core sets cards is .5 higher than the cost. Every other set it is about .5 less. It also has the cheapest cost and some awesome cards in it so you can really flesh out your options quickly.

2) Now that I have a stack of cards I will immediately separate out all deck boxes and high star cards (5+ stars) from the rest. I don't even read the lower value cards yet. I try and find good synergy among these cards and focus on picking the best deck box that can go well with some of my high value cards.

3) Once I have picked a deck box I set the remaining deck boxes to the side in a separate stack in case I need to switch gears once I get more cards. I usually put accessories to the side with them as well. I then separate out the high value cards into 3 piles... works well with my deck box, doesn't but could be great later on, and not worth it at all.

4) I then start going through the remaining cards and putting cards that jive well with my chosen deck box (and high value cards) and put them together. Any cards that don't fit I evaluate as either potentially good for later or utter junk. On rare occasions I'll notice I have a lot of cards that jive with a different deck box and may switch gears.

5) I then go through the utter junk to form the basis of a collection. Once I found the best option I see if any of my high star "not worth it" cards fit. If so they go in the collection.. if not I sell them to recoop cash for the second 7 minute phase.

6) If i have any time left (not always) I start trying to form my deck from the now small stack of cards.

This entire time... make sure to look at ANY cards people sell as soon as they sell them. Don't miss your chance at a good card that fits your deckbox.

7) The second 7 minutes I immediately check the 6 new cards... and decide if they change anything (usually not) and then put them into my stacks from the first round. I then generally just keep developing my deck.

8) Once I have a solid deck I look at the metas and see if I should swap out any cards to meet them. This part is key to me. I think metas distract you if you focus on them too early. Make the best deck you can and THEN see what the metas can offer or how you can sneak them in.

9) Then i start focusing on a couple big non core set purchases trying to enhance my deck or build up my collection... sell some other cards (I use all my sell markers every time)... and MAYBE do a fusion if I have a lot left in my utter junk pile. I usually don't fuse before the first tournament though as it eats up a lot of cards and makes collections harder later on for often minimal gains (I'd say less than half the time I find a promo helpful). I often DO fuse in the second deck building phase when i have even more cards.

10) Usually I finish all this up right around the end of the 2nd 7 minute timer. The last 6 minutes I am often just fine tuning and sifting through my cards one more time to make sure I didn't miss some cool interaction and also that there is not a better collection option I missed. I also pick out my accessories at this time.

Finally, here is some advice straight from Ithry of L99 games!
Ithry wrote:
I recommend finding a deck box you like and attempting to build around that. If this is not possible right away, finding a few good cards and building a strategy to make them shine can work. Buying Core set cards can be a gamble, but some of the more powerful cards lie within. There are many opinions on what the best way to begin deckbuilding is, but getting familiar with the cards and playing many games can't hurt!

Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22994373#22994373
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dillon Lloyd
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
When you initiate clash are you required to flip a card even if you when? I am unclear on whether or not you have to flip a card just for initiating a clash
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vicky Fletcher
United States
Nashua
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
PlantPrion wrote:
When you initiate clash are you required to flip a card even if you when? I am unclear on whether or not you have to flip a card just for initiating a clash

It depends on what the card says. If it's an action you would have to flip the card. Clashing doesn't necessarily mean flipping but I think some cards say to flip after the clssh, sometimes if you win or lose.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Shipp

Arlington
Virginia
msg tools
mb
Do face down cards stop a card from being the Leftmost?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vicky Fletcher
United States
Nashua
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Usually cards that reference the leftmost card mean face up cards. There might be a card that specifies face down ones, I'm not sure.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have two cards that are tied for highest Star Value, and an effect is applied to your highest valued card, do you just choose one card or are both affected? If you choose, can you choose a card that is immune to the effect, since it technically qualifies as the highest value card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett M
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jackalope wrote:
If you have two cards that are tied for highest Star Value, and an effect is applied to your highest valued card, do you just choose one card or are both affected? If you choose, can you choose a card that is immune to the effect, since it technically qualifies as the highest value card?

My interpretation was you could pick but if one is an illegal target then you MUST pick the legal one. You may then use deck protectors etc to negate the effect if need be... but you must initially choose a legal target.

And thanks all for contributing. I'll make sure to add all these new ones tomorrow!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vicky Fletcher
United States
Nashua
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
If you ever need to choose a targrt, it always has to be a legal option
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett M
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PlantPrion wrote:
When you initiate clash are you required to flip a card even if you when? I am unclear on whether or not you have to flip a card just for initiating a clash


Added some examples to the answer in the rules FAQ above in case it helps!

Rainking82 wrote:
Do face down cards stop a card from being the Leftmost?


See my response in the FAQ above

Inustar wrote:
Usually cards that reference the leftmost card mean face up cards. There might be a card that specifies face down ones, I'm not sure.


See my take on it is the leftmost card is still a card even when flipped. So unless the card says face-up then leftmost card is still the leftmost card even if flipped. What are others take on this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett M
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trying to add card sets to the listed cards... but I can't find a couple. If anyone knows feel free to chime in! For example is 006 not in the James Bomb set? Cause if he is I am definitely missing that card. Searched the whole box twice for the stupid thing... I only have 1 Golducky so it doesn't seem like the highest rarity one

EDIT: Ok... after taking out all the james bomb cards I realize the question was about James Bomb (maybe 006 should have clued me in they meant that card)... but in general if people could list the specific card name, set, and card text when asking about them it would make everyone's life easier. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alison Mandible
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eflin wrote:
See my take on it is the leftmost card is still a card even when flipped. So unless the card says face-up then leftmost card is still the leftmost card even if flipped. What are others take on this?


A card can be "Top" when there are face-down cards to the right of it, can't it?

If so, then I would expect "leftmost card" to mean "leftmost face-up card". But I haven't played the game yet!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Honig
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grasa_total wrote:
eflin wrote:
See my take on it is the leftmost card is still a card even when flipped. So unless the card says face-up then leftmost card is still the leftmost card even if flipped. What are others take on this?


A card can be "Top" when there are face-down cards to the right of it, can't it?

If so, then I would expect "leftmost card" to mean "leftmost face-up card". But I haven't played the game yet!


You've got it backwards! "Top" is defined as "Right-most face up card" per rulebook page twelve, which is different from Right-most card. Similarly, Left-most card can be face-up or face-down. If you're told to flip your left-most card and slot #1 in your tableau's got a face-down card in it...you don't have anything to flip.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Occhipinti
United States
Decorah
Iowa
flag msg tools
Magic Fanboy
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Andarel wrote:
grasa_total wrote:
eflin wrote:
See my take on it is the leftmost card is still a card even when flipped. So unless the card says face-up then leftmost card is still the leftmost card even if flipped. What are others take on this?


A card can be "Top" when there are face-down cards to the right of it, can't it?

If so, then I would expect "leftmost card" to mean "leftmost face-up card". But I haven't played the game yet!


You've got it backwards! "Top" is defined as "Right-most face up card" per rulebook page twelve, which is different from Right-most card. Similarly, Left-most card can be face-up or face-down. If you're told to flip your left-most card and slot #1 in your tableau's got a face-down card in it...you don't have anything to flip.


I find it difficult to believe the intended functionality of the card in the starting deck that has an ongoing effect of flipping the leftmost card every turn is that it do that once and never again.

That said, it is clear from the rules that that is what the text written means. If I were to guess, I'd guess this is a typo, and it really should read "flip your leftmost face up card and gain 5 points."

But it could be intended to let you flip and unflip the leftmost card over and over? Or simply intended to make sure you don't put that card in the leftmost slot? I don't know.

Does anyone else have thoughts about this card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vicky Fletcher
United States
Nashua
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
delirimouse wrote:


I find it difficult to believe the intended functionality of the card in the starting deck that has an ongoing effect of flipping the leftmost card every turn is that it do that once and never again.

That said, it is clear from the rules that that is what the text written means. If I were to guess, I'd guess this is a typo, and it really should read "flip your leftmost face up card and gain 5 points."

But it could be intended to let you flip and unflip the leftmost card over and over? Or simply intended to make sure you don't put that card in the leftmost slot? I don't know.

Does anyone else have thoughts about this card?


So, rather then look through all the cards, which one are you referring? A card in the core deck or a starting deck?

All I can say for sure is that flip effects don't target cards that are already flipped, so it doesn't appear you would be able to flip a card over and over again. But without more info on the specific card, I don't know.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Occhipinti
United States
Decorah
Iowa
flag msg tools
Magic Fanboy
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Inustar wrote:


So, rather then look through all the cards, which one are you referring? A card in the core deck or a starting deck?

All I can say for sure is that flip effects don't target cards that are already flipped, so it doesn't appear you would be able to flip a card over and over again. But without more info on the specific card, I don't know.


Sorry, I was hoping not to pull it out, but I dug it up:

Kamen, the Masked Priest from the Saints of Whiteholme
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vicky Fletcher
United States
Nashua
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Okay, just so everyone else knows this is the text on the card.

Kamen, the Masked Prist from the Saints of Whiteholme
Ongoing: At the end of each of your turns, flip your left-most card and gain 5 RP.

But I gotta agree with Tommy on this. It seems odd that left most would just mean that one card, otherwise this would be a play effect, or an action, and only happen once. Ongoing would seem to mean it happens multiple times. It does specify in the rules that you can not target a face down card to flip up.

So....

yeah I am still confused on this one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Atnier Rodriguez
United States
Monroe
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Inustar wrote:
Okay, just so everyone else knows this is the text on the card.

Kamen, the Masked Prist from the Saints of Whiteholme
Ongoing: At the end of each of your turns, flip your left-most card and gain 5 RP.

But I gotta agree with Tommy on this. It seems odd that left most would just mean that one card, otherwise this would be a play effect, or an action, and only happen once. Ongoing would seem to mean it happens multiple times. It does specify in the rules that you can not target a face down card to flip up.

So....

yeah I am still confused on this one.


There's no flipping back up unless explicitly mentioned. Once flipped, it's over for that card.

The mentioned card just keeps flopping leftmost cards until it flips itself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This might be a silly question, but the FAQ about copy effects is worded in a way that clarifies exactly nothing for me. I figured it was obvious that if you copy a copy card, you can't copy it's copy effect since the copy effects all say that you cannot.

However, the Eggs all say "is an exact copy of a 6 * or lower [element] card to it's immediate left (Play effects can be used). [...] This effect cannot be copied." They do not say "this card cannot be copied."

So my question: is this an oversight in the wording of the FAQ clarification about copy effects, or are the eggs a special case where you can copy the card which has become a different card. For example, let's say you have this:

Card A with Play ability --> Egg --> Card B that copies Play ability to its left

It seems to me that Card B copying Card A's play effect off of the Egg is not the same as copying the Egg's copy effect (which cannot be copied). It seems, further, that you can use an Egg to copy everything about a card with a copy effect except the copy effect. That is, an Egg could still be used on a card with a copy effect to gain it's star rating, type, element, name, and any non-copy effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corporal Joe Bauers
United States
flag msg tools
No matter games or life
badge
Honesty over everything
Avatar
mbmbmb
The rulebook is very specific that flipping can only turn a card face-up if it expressly says so. i.e. Deques Aplenti.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Occhipinti
United States
Decorah
Iowa
flag msg tools
Magic Fanboy
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
okami31 wrote:
Inustar wrote:
Okay, just so everyone else knows this is the text on the card.

Kamen, the Masked Prist from the Saints of Whiteholme
Ongoing: At the end of each of your turns, flip your left-most card and gain 5 RP.

But I gotta agree with Tommy on this. It seems odd that left most would just mean that one card, otherwise this would be a play effect, or an action, and only happen once. Ongoing would seem to mean it happens multiple times. It does specify in the rules that you can not target a face down card to flip up.

So....

yeah I am still confused on this one.


There's no flipping back up unless explicitly mentioned. Once flipped, it's over for that card.

The mentioned card just keeps flopping leftmost cards until it flips itself.


But the rulebook is, in my opinion, quite clear that facedown cards are cards. So once the leftmost card is flipped, it is still a card. So when you are instructed to flip it, and it is flipped, nothing happens.

Nothing in the rules suggests that "flip the leftmost card" should be interpreted as "flip the leftmost unflipped card" but in the context of the ability common sense definitely suggests that very strongly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vicky Fletcher
United States
Nashua
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
okami31 wrote:
Inustar wrote:
Okay, just so everyone else knows this is the text on the card.

Kamen, the Masked Prist from the Saints of Whiteholme
Ongoing: At the end of each of your turns, flip your left-most card and gain 5 RP.

But I gotta agree with Tommy on this. It seems odd that left most would just mean that one card, otherwise this would be a play effect, or an action, and only happen once. Ongoing would seem to mean it happens multiple times. It does specify in the rules that you can not target a face down card to flip up.

So....

yeah I am still confused on this one.


There's no flipping back up unless explicitly mentioned. Once flipped, it's over for that card.

The mentioned card just keeps flopping leftmost cards until it flips itself.


Oh I know that you can only flip face up cards. The question that this is referring to is whether or not the left-most card is the left most face up card, or just the left most card (flipped or not) in the tableau. I thought it was as you said, that the left most is what is face up, but others disagree.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vicky Fletcher
United States
Nashua
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Sulinde wrote:
This might be a silly question, but the FAQ about copy effects is worded in a way that clarifies exactly nothing for me. I figured it was obvious that if you copy a copy card, you can't copy it's copy effect since the copy effects all say that you cannot.

However, the Eggs all say "is an exact copy of a 6 * or lower [element] card to it's immediate left (Play effects can be used). [...] This effect cannot be copied." They do not say "this card cannot be copied."

So my question: is this an oversight in the wording of the FAQ clarification about copy effects, or are the eggs a special case where you can copy the card which has become a different card. For example, let's say you have this:

Card A with Play ability --> Egg --> Card B that copies Play ability to its left

It seems to me that Card B copying Card A's play effect off of the Egg is not the same as copying the Egg's copy effect (which cannot be copied). It seems, further, that you can use an Egg to copy everything about a card with a copy effect except the copy effect. That is, an Egg could still be used on a card with a copy effect to gain it's star rating, type, element, name, and any non-copy effects.


Well you can't copy the effect of the egg, but I guess you could copy the card. This could work if you wanted to copy the type and element. In that case though you would't copy what the egg itself DOES. So basically, it's unlikely that you would bother doing this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [11] | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.