Christopher Pratt
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow. What a tremendous weekend. Before I begin telling you about all of the great people I met, I feel as though I should put some sort of disclaimer here, lest someone accuse me of bending the truth in order to 'drum up business' for my son's podcast on Ashes – The Main Action podcast. Yep, my son does a podcast about the game, and I started playing Ashes because of his passion. Doesn't change a sentence about what I am going to write. Note: if you do listen to the podcast, I'm the one they call “Papa Pratt.”

For those of you who aren't aware, Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn is an LCG (though that acronym is trademarked I guess – so I should probably say ECG – with the 'E' standing for “Expandable?”). The base set came out last year, and probably missed its mark a bit with the justifiable hype around the game fading a bit before the game actually hit the shelves at your LGS. Add in the fact that the LCG/CCG space is already pretty crowded and Ashes has, sadly, had some trouble gaining purchase.

This hasn't dissuaded the people who are passionate about the game though, as it has a healthy, burgeoning, community, fueled by people who play regularly on Tabletop Simulator (it works quite nicely on there!) and support the game through attending events just like the one I am going to tell you about.

Ashes weekend was the premiere release of the first two expansions of the base set, adding two new Phoenixborn, Brennen and Rin. We were all looking forward to getting the new cards and finally playing with them!