In xx5, 25x, and x52, you can explore more than one hex with a single resident. How does this work?
Option 1: You must say exactly which spaces you are exploring, and what order you will explore them in (the order matters, since finding water or a city changes what you might find in adjacent hexes); then you roll the die for all the hexes you are exploring.
Option 2: You choose a first space to explore, and roll the die. You may then be finished with that resident, or choose to explore another space, and so forth.
FWLIW I do not know, but I've always understood it to be Option 2. This is based only on the reasoning that usually when games want you to predeclare a set of actions, they say so explicitly, and the more common default style of game rule (in my experience) is that you do multiple actions one after the other, deciding what to do next as you proceed.