Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Great War 1914-1918» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Timur Tamerlan
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
We played the 1914 and 1917 scenarios yesterday. Somme comments and questions below.

Comments : The rulebook and scenario book included in the game do not incorporate all known errata. One has to download the updated PDFs from OSS website. Many typos on the books. This looks as if the original 1976 books had been scanned and OCRed, but unsufficient proofreading has let errors from the OCR process to remain. But this doesn't make the rules unreadable, by far. Some sentences are strange and difficult to understand, for example this one, 11.5.3 : "provided that Naval Units are main- tained within one Naval Movement Allowance an area and a Supplied friendly Port,"

Also, we found the map beautiful, but the names on it sometimes strange or even funny. Sometimes you have the name of the big city of the zone (Paris, St Petersburg, Constantinople), some other times the name of the region (Kent, Brandeburg, Lazio), and some other times just funny (The Austrias for Vienna for example). Non english countries zone names are sometimes in english, sometimes in local language. Anyway, no impact on gameplay, but maybe a reedition could have sorted this around a bit.

We loved the mechanics of the game, which very much feel 14-18 right. Mobilisation, supply, NRC mechanics coupled with the battle system and very attritional CRT. All fits nicely together and we very much enjoyed the 1914 scenario. We were only surprised that there are no fortifications along the french-german border. Then we jumped to 1917 to have a look at trench-war. This was quite enjoyable as well during three turns, but then it looked to us that the attritional battle to consume the other side NRC and lead to a collapse at the end of the year would become a bit systematic and repetitive, and probably (in our opinion) boring, so we stopped there. I believe that when I will play again at it, I will either take the 1918 or 1919 scenarios, or a mini campaign linking 1914 and early 1915.

We found one weakness in all the scenarios : as it takes one full year to mobilize a new naval unit, it means that no player will make that spending in any scenario and concentrate NRCs on more infantry and more fighting, whereas in a campaign game this long term investment would be needed.

Questions : We had many questions during the two games, here they are :

1) Set up : german fleets in Oldenburg, but Oldenburg has no port symbol. We assumed a port here (Hamburg). Is that correct ?

2) 8.8 : "A Naval Unit must always begin or end a Naval Operations segment in a friendly Port." We understood that as no naval unit can remain two consecutive turns out at sea. It must either start a turn in port and move to sea (or another port), or start a turn at sea and then must return to a port. Correct ?

3) Setup : 1914 scenario requires four french 4-10 fleets, but we only found three on the countersheet. We used a blank counter for the fourth. Correct ?

4) We assumed that when a fleet is being repaired in a port, the enemy still cannot bombard the port even though the fleet being repaired is unavailable for combat. Is that correct ?

5) It seems some markers are missing (turn, month, some control markers to ease remember who controls what for supply). We used the blank counters for that.

6) The rules state that one can only initiate naval combat through interception. We assumed then that if one moves its fleets in a sea zone occupied by enemy fleets which do not intercept, then no combat occurs and both stay in the zone. Correct ?

7) We were a bit puzzled about how minors NRCs are allocated to major powers, and then consumed in combat. For example the Serbs are not adjacent to any other allies in 1914, but their NRCs are allocated to Russia or France or Britain, and then when they fight the Austrians, they draw upon these NRCs even though the rules state that NRC grants are possible only if adjacent (technically, in battle this is not a NRC grant, but it looks similar). Same when different nationalities are involved in a battle (ie AH and GR) : how are the NRC spend split amongst the different powers ?

8)Mobilisation : what happens if the Belgians spend NRC to mobilize troups, but when the troops arrive two turns after Belgium has been entirely overrun ? Are they forfeited, or do they appear after two other turns in another allied country such as France ?

9) There are no limitations to different powers of the same side stacking together and fighting together. Correct ?

10) The 6-4 AH counters are labeled as corps. We assumed they are armies.

11) Combat is forbidden if odds below 1/3. But combat is mandatory when a unit enters an enemy ground zone where no friendly unit was before. Does this mean that if a 3 strength unit wants to enter a zone where there is a combined strength of 16, this move is prohibited as the mandatory resulting combat is prohibited ?

12) The rules allow to leave a contested zone and move to an adjacent zone which is either contested or occupied by friendly units. Is this allowed even if the adjacent zone has just been occupied by friendly units during the same movement phase ?

13) If a stack of GR + AH armies wants to declare combat, but AH doesn't meet the minimum NRC requirement to do so, can it participate in the combat if GR meets the minimum requirement for the whole stack ?

14) What happens if an army enters an enemy occupied zone but its power doesn't meet the minimum NRC requirement to declare combat. Is this move forbidden ? (similar to question 11)

15) 7.2.3 was unclear to us. If Germany wages unrestricted warfare during two turns, then stops for one turn, and then resumes the turn after, does this trigger the USA intervention die-roll, or should the USA wait for the fifth unrestricted warfare turn anyway ?

16) When the USA start to roll for intervention, do they roll every turn, or only on subsequent turns where Germany wages unrestricted warfare again ?

17) Setup. Units must go to Salonika, but no Salonika on the map. We assumed this is Thessaly.

That's it for today, many thanks in advance for answers and clarifications
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
callme DESDINOVA
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow!

All the errata wasn't incorporated into the rules and a whole lot of other questions about setup and play.

I was going to get this game but now I am very unsure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timur Tamerlan
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
These questions were answered on consimworld ; you should give this game a try I think.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juhan Voolaid
Estonia
Tallinn
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tamerlan wrote:
These questions were answered on consimworld ; you should give this game a try I think.

Can you provide a link please. I cannot find it.

EDIT: found it
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX/.1dd1250e
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls