Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nikosu Oyama
Finland
Turku
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Because I am a student and I have fairly low income it's essential for me that my hobbies don't eat all my money. I have to stay alive too you know. So I decided to make rules of acquisition for games. I'll make a geeklist of the games that I think I should get based on these rules.

The Rules of Acquisition:
Acquire if and only if:
-The game can't be played for free (besides internet, bsw etc.) (it's not owned by anyone you know or that the game isn't available in cafes, clubs, pubs etc.)
-There is no optional game that is better or has got a better price/value-relation
-Best game (7 and up in BGG) in it's category:
-divided by:
-duration: (less than) 15,45,90,180 minutes
-difficulty: difficult (3.5-5), average (2-3.5), easy (1-2)
-number of players: (more than) 3,5,7 players
-there isn't a game in your collection that has similar mechanics
-the game has to have a specific purpose why it's bought (that you know people who are willing to play it or you can use it to get to know people you don't know etc.)
-maximum number of games 10, including games that have a higher real value than 5 euros (the amount of money you'll get if you sell it, but atleast 50% of the amount it costs)

This is a very strict list of rules. But I want to make certain that my money is well spent and also that the amount spend to boardgames has to have a limit.

If you have any suggestions conserning the rules, please tell me! Although this list is based on my specific needs, I think that everyone can use it to limit the number of games in their collection if they modify it. Maybe someone has other set of rules of acquisition?

Games I own divided into categories. There are some games that aren't actually the best in the given category but close enough.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/geeklist/20509/item/400049#item...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Hostman
United States
Alsea