Hide
7 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: Tired of your own game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Swanson
msg tools
I've been developing a board game for over 3 years. During that time, it has changed miraculously. I can honestly say that in its current iteration, it is the best it has ever been. It has been playtested by about 30 different people (all strangers), and I have been able to refine the balance, rules, and overall "essence" of the game because of it.

But right now, I'm just tired of it. Not because I think it's bad, unbalanced, or intrinsically boring, but because I've played it so much.

Has this happened to any other game designers out there?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Put it aside and come back to it in a few months.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shep
United Kingdom
Derby
Derbyshire
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
toober wrote:
Put it aside and come back to it in a few months.

This.

I'm at the 'artwork' phase of a games design with the aim to self publish, and I still can't get enough of it. BUT, I know others who have been where you are. I suggest, as above; give it a break and come back fresh, OR, take it to the next phase - forget the game, it sounds like it plays well and you are happy with it - Move to final artwork and design, think about another aspect of the game for a bit.

At the end of the day, you have to love it, it's part of you!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Nelson
United States
American Fork
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb