Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
28 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Star Wars: Armada» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wave 3 Jamming Field - Interpretation Requested rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christo Lockxxx
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I am a little confused by the text of Jamming Field:

"While a squadron at distance 1-2 is attacking or defending against a squadron, the attack is treated as obstructed."

Distance - I get it.
Obstructed - I get it.
attacking or defending against a squadron?
1. Maybe this is a silly question but what is defending against a squadron?
2. This may even be sillier, but that text mean the effect is against both friendly and non-friendly?

More experienced and savvy players are probably laughing at this question. If anyone is able to wipe the tears from their eyes for a moment and provide me a scenario where it would be good to have defending player (I am assuming my own squadron)jammed. I dont get it yet. Maybe I am inside my own box. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) If you say something to anger me and I come after you with a baseball bat, you should consider defending against me.

2) I read whatever you quoted as affecting both players squadrons, yeah. I have no idea why it would be good. (not that it can't, just not sure when it would be.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Marky
Hungary
Budaƶrs
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It could be good, as some squadrons (bombers especially) have only 2 attack dice. Removing one could be cripplig for them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trent Y.
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The only situations where this might work in your favour would be when your have 1 (or 2) squadrons that you are using to tie up a larger force (say 3-5 squadrons).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Marlow
msg tools
"While a squadron at distance 1-2 is attacking or defending against a squadron, the attack is treated as obstructed."

Does this count even against "Counter"?

So if someone had "Counter 1" and you had a jamming field, they wouldn't be able to shoot back?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Hare
msg tools
Picture Rhymer/jumpmaster/TIE bombers.

Jumpmaster lets your bombers shoot at ships while engaged. Making all squadron to squadron fighting obstructed makes the already tanky bombers harder to kill. It b7ys the Rhymerball time to work.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen T
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
scifiantihero wrote:

2) I read whatever you quoted as affecting both players squadrons, yeah. I have no idea why it would be good. (not that it can't, just not sure when it would be.)


Yes, it would effect the squadrons of both players. There are a number if times this is helpful, I'll let you figure them out!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Conroy
United States
Winchester
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The jamming field is unfocused and therefore, indiscriminate. Use it at your squadrons own risk.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sniperbonjovi wrote:
"While a squadron at distance 1-2 is attacking or defending against a squadron, the attack is treated as obstructed."

Does this count even against "Counter"?

So if someone had "Counter 1" and you had a jamming field, they wouldn't be able to shoot back?


Counter attacks are attacks so anything that affects attacks affects Counter attacks (which is why you get to reroll Counter attacks using Swarm and why Howlrunner buffs Counter attacks). So yes, Jamming Field would make Counter 1 attacks effectively Counter 0.

Intel squadrons or Admiral Chiraneau seem to be the idea with Jamming Field flotillas - command your dogfighting squadrons out of range 1-2, have them attack their foes with no penalty, debuff the return attacks (Counter and/or expected return attacks later), and flak the enemies as well and then mozy along at speed 1 to keep that debuff aura going. Repeat as necessary.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christo Lockxxx
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
So, with a Jamming Field type card, could the attacker just turn it on and then turn it off when their ship (and selected squadrons) is active? That would assist with reducing all incoming dice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen T
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
christolockxxx wrote:
So, with a Jamming Field type card, could the attacker just turn it on and then turn it off when their ship (and selected squadrons) is active? That would assist with reducing all incoming dice.


I don't believe so, no.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with monkeykins -- despite the IGO-UGO alternating activation sequence of the game, the idea is that the combat is taking place simultaneously. And, the uses for Jamming Field is indiscriminate. If you could turn it off and on at will, the card would say that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
christolockxxx wrote:
So, with a Jamming Field type card, could the attacker just turn it on and then turn it off when their ship (and selected squadrons) is active? That would assist with reducing all incoming dice.

That cannot be done. There is no player choice element on the card. The Jamming Fields are indiscriminate. They are also extremely cheap. It is up to the player using them to find ways to make them more of a hassle for their opponent than for them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Drontle
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I think the intent of jamming fields is that you keep your squadrons within 2 of your flotilla, then activate your squads with a squadron command. You move your squads beyond range 2 of the flotilla, which means that they can shoot at full strength. Then, when your flotilla moves, you move it so that the squads are once again within range 2 and thus get the defensive benefits that Jamming field provides.

Neat if you can pull it off, but requires a fair amount of coordination between moving squads and your flotillas.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
East Windsor
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I figured it was a squadron escort. It can be used to prevent your squads from being tied up with "engaged" as you move in on your target.

Edit - sorry JF does not effect movement, so squads can still be tied down with engagement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
East Windsor
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a good thread on this over at the FFG community. Because JF is a "while" effect it is defined as optional per each instance of the effect. Meaning that you can use it for enemies, and not effect your own squads.
Baring an errata, it is optional.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen T
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What? It doesn't say "the attack CAN be treated as Obstructed" it says "the attack IS treated as Obstructed" (emphasis mine). Barring an errata, it is specifically not optional.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
monkeykins wrote:
What? It doesn't say "the attack CAN be treated as Obstructed" it says "the attack IS treated as Obstructed" (emphasis mine). Barring an errata, it is specifically not optional.


Barring an FAQ, it is entirely optional, which is very frustrating given the nature of the card and how it seems to go to lengths to specify it affects everyone.

Think of it this way: all bug zappers have an on/off switch unless specified otherwise. You own a bug zapper that zaps anything that gets within five feet of it at the exact 5 foot moment. Because it has an on/off switch, you can turn it off when you or your friends would get to that range and then turn it right back on once you're comfortably inside. Upgrade cards in Armada work the same way.

Mind you I don't think that it was the designers' intention for Jamming Field to work that way. However, until an errata specifies that it works differently or changes the rules on how upgrades work, it is optional.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
East Windsor
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Under effects and timings a "while" effect *can* be resolved...
So "While" effects are optional.
Also upgrade card effects are optional unless otherwise specified.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex G
Canada
flag msg tools
Sniperbonjovi wrote:
"While a squadron at distance 1-2 is attacking or defending against a squadron, the attack is treated as obstructed."

Does this count even against "Counter"?

So if someone had "Counter 1" and you had a jamming field, they wouldn't be able to shoot back?


Counter is considered an attack. So yes and yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex G
Canada
flag msg tools
err404 wrote:
Under effects and timings a "while" effect *can* be resolved...
So "While" effects are optional.
Also upgrade card effects are optional unless otherwise specified.


This is 100% wrong by the way. Especially the second part.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
East Windsor
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
unonameless wrote:
err404 wrote:
Under effects and timings a "while" effect *can* be resolved...
So "While" effects are optional.
Also upgrade card effects are optional unless otherwise specified.


This is 100% wrong by the way. Especially the second part.

Care to explain? Upgrade card effects being optional is straight from the RRG.
They intended the effect to be mandatory and were forced to make an errata to the wording in order to be compatible with this specific rule. FFG tries very hard to avoid errata. This is only the second card to be re-worded since the game was released. I am confident that if the old wording supported a 'mandatory' interpretation, they would have just issued a clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen T
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Errata?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
unonameless wrote:
err404 wrote:
Under effects and timings a "while" effect *can* be resolved...
So "While" effects are optional.
Also upgrade card effects are optional unless otherwise specified.


This is 100% wrong by the way. Especially the second part.

You are 100% wrong. The errata has made Jamming Fields non-optional now (thank God), but upgrade card effects are always optional unless they state otherwise (which errataed Jamming Fields now do).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
East Windsor
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Snipafist wrote:
unonameless wrote:
err404 wrote:
Under effects and timings a "while" effect *can* be resolved...
So "While" effects are optional.
Also upgrade card effects are optional unless otherwise specified.


This is 100% wrong by the way. Especially the second part.

You are 100% wrong. The errata has made Jamming Fields non-optional now (thank God), but upgrade card effects are always optional unless they state otherwise (which errataed Jamming Fields now do).

I am completely confused by your reply, because you seem to be agreeing. You do realize that post you are referring to was from a few months ago. Long before the FAQ was released. The point of that post was that the original card text supported playing the card as optional.
Now that the FAQ has changed the wording, my post from August is irrelevant.
I guess thanks for waking up this thread to put an end cap on the post-FAQ status of the card as "mandatory".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.